Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Warm and welcoming

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Mirrors in bedrooms
We stayed here for three nights and the owners and all of the staff are doing a great job in the short time they have been running the business. Carrie and Jason are a great couple and will do anything to help. The food served is of a very good standard and the waiting staff are lovely. Good luck to you all in the future. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex, uk

Great position for exploring west Dorset, etc

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The new owners are working their socks off to improve this old pub and could not have been more helpful. A very good three night stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

This is not a hotel it is a pub with rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The landlord and Landlady
Cons: The menu in the dinning room in the evening
Location: On a out of town quite road. Close to Bridport and handy for the coast we went to Weymouth.
The new landlord and Landlady have only been at this place 2 weeks and are still knocking it into shape and they are very nice people and I hope they do very well. It is situated on a quite road with plenty of car parking front and back, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is great. The food on offer in the dinning room is ok but the menu is a little limited, But I am sure this will improve when the new Landlords gain more experience. We enjoyed our stay here and I am sure other people will to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Pleasant rural location-easy access to Chard

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: The new owners were in the process of improving everything while we were there as they were aware that the standard had been allowed to drop.
Location: Situated in a pleasant village with easy access to north and south Devon coastal resorts
During the 2 days of the out going landlord room service etc was poor with no breakfast available.. However when the new owners took over on the Tuesday we had a much better experience and we enjoyed a traditional english breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Glyn from South Wales

A great place to stay.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was our second visit. We were there on the proprieter's last night. So unfortunately no breakfast in the morning. We'll go back to the Haymaker.
2 out of 5
by Nicola from Elland

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We travelled to the area for a funeral & needed somewhere to stay. This place was ideal (price & location). Breakfast brilliant, cleanliness not! Bed very comfortable, good room facilities. Needs more attention to detail.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ginny from Kent

Nice little Inn.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
To be fair, current landlords trying to run a business whilst coping with frequent flooding. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable and spotless. You can see that an effort is being made to update and modernise a very old coaching inn. Staff were welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Harry Chant from Cornwall

Welcoming

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels
Tim & Jill gave us a very warm welcome and provided for all we needed on our one night stay. Unfortunately a cloudburst in the night badly flooded the ground floor level but Tim & Jill worked all night to deal with it as best they could and in good spirits. Regardless of the problem Jill still provided us with the cooked breakfast we asked for. The was also an inter-pub skittles match, typical of Somerset so we enjoyed being there as spectators. Will stay again if in that location. 5*
5 out of 5
by TR

Great service

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
This was a great stay for the price. Greeting on arrival was friendly and helpful, room was fine and the food was excellent - made to order (I'm a picky vegetarian) and the breakfast was lovely. Staff friendliness and efforts to please were notable. Would definitely stay again.