Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Arthur

Best Breakfast as we like it.

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We like the system at Apart City, it allows us to make our own breakfast and this is why we chose it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arbroath

Not a hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room carpets, availability of clean sheets and towels. Better Wi-Fi access.
Location: Central to Angouleme. Handy for city activities. There primarily for the Circuit de Rampart weekend and all venues were within walkable distance.
This should not be listed as a hotel it is an apartment rental. In a hotel I would expect to pay for car parking and laundry facilities but this 'hotel' also offered a tariff for; room cleaning, clean replacement bed and bathroom linen, iron, hairdryer. (E.g. Cleaning service €18.90 per clean inc linen or 1large/1small towel and bath mat €5.60). The photograph showed beautiful stone vaulted entrance hall. This was reached after you navigated the bins and litter outside the front door. This was where you put put your room rubbish because it wasn't removed for you. One of our lights had no shade (broken) and the carpets were filthy. The Wi-Fi service was poor and patchy. I witnessed several other guests complaining at reception. After complaining the receptionist handed out router for the room. Info suggested staff available 24/7. Not so, indeed there is an elaborate system of access security codes for doors and a safe to get in if arriving out of hours. The reception was open office hours only. There was a well equiped galley kitchen provided. When approached the staff were helpful but could not address these issues. Issues would not have been so bad for a short stay however we were booked for 2 weeks! Our 4th visit to Angouleme but our last to the Appart'City Angouleme.
4 out of 5
by Maxwell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Newcastle

No parking

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
They said they had parking but upon arrival there was none it had to be booked so I had to oark car 500 yds away in a street not good
5 out of 5
by DAVID from Tonbridge

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very good affordable accommodation, ideal for Circuit des Remparts - would have been good to know that they have reserved parking slots before we went.
1 out of 5
by Juan from Athens, Greece

Shoddy, unfriendly and undesirable location

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived 1:30pm, was told room was ready, but check in is only at 3:00pm, needed to pay surcharge of €15 to take the room "early"! Absurd! Unfriendly check in staff. Dirty carpets everywhere. Not enough parking. Vending machine partially working, considering it's not close to any easily accessible shops, unacceptable. Breakfast turned into a "Faulty Towers" fiasco, with no cups, cutlery or replenishment of foods, this too is extra!
3 out of 5
by Morag

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Not great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It looks better on the website than it really is.

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
the room was hot and stuffy. There was a window but it opened on to a noisy road and there were people screaming, singing or just talking loudly there all night. Oh and cars practicing for Monte Carlo. The Internet only worked in the lobby. The staff were friendly did their best - though it would be better if someone cleaned those strange yellow stains from the bathroom wall before they rent out the room again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Hot & disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Very little. Everything was at an extra charge including wifi and a car park which was in the sun from dawn to dusk.
Cons: No kettle. Check in 3pm, chuck out 11am. Air con. We were asked to sign an A4 sheet packed with tiny writing before entry.
Location: Angouleme was an interesting and unusual place. A walk around town can be augmented by a stroll along the river below.
Our room (308) had no air con and no way of generating a draught. The window had to be open at night which increased the noise from traffic and late night revellers. We were only there one day and it was the most uncomfortable night of our holiday. We gained the impression that the rooms were geared to students. Angouleme was quite a memorable place with most of the town at the top of a very steep hill. Well worth the walk but not recommended to the infirm.