Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Angouleme Visit

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived early and was accommodated. The desk clerks were welcoming and helpful. They spoke English very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We could not stay at all, as you always block book the Hotel for the Rampart weekend ! You have already booked for 2017 !!!!!! I have seen it with my own eyes! We have stayed several times over the last few years and would love to come again !
4 out of 5
by Ian from Boston

Convenient and good value

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel du Palais is very conveniently located in the heart of Angoulême's old city. The room (and bed) was comfortable, but does not have air conditioning and a light in the bathroom did not work. The breakfast was very nice.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Birmingham

Certainly not a boring chain hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
What the hotel lacks in modern facilities it aims to make up for in character. It succeeds in all but the rooms (mine anyway). The decor was tired, and an attempt to modernise by painting everything the same colour had only partially succeeded. Despite its faults I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time, the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. If it weren't for the parking situation in the town centre, which certainly can't be blamed on the hotel, I would happily stop here much more often. But if you want a quaint hotel right in the centre of town I would recommend the palais
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located nice staff

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: the ambiance, the staff and the location were the things that I liked.
Cons: Ok as is.
Location: Center of town lends itself to many restaurants, stores and shops nearby as well as parking available on the street as well as in the hotel.
A nice building located in the historic district, the Hotel du Palais has a very old French feel, a nice very helpful staff, and a nice breakfast room. There is underground parking and easy access to other squares on the hill where the old city is. It is easy to walk out to whatever you may want and come home to the hotel in a few steps. I recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

great location , right in the middle of the town

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Cons: Parking is an issue
I was working , but in the time I had free there was plenty of sights to see , ( Kennedy Irish Bar :) )
4 out of 5
by Christhoper from Leicester

Great place to stay to break the journey

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very good
3 out of 5
by Lucie

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
For onde night it was ok
4 out of 5
by Theresa from Wishaw

Would definitely recommend

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Received a very warm welcome throughout our stay and were delighted with our room for our family of five . The room was immaculate, comfortable and spacious and came with an unexpected kitchenette with microwave, stove and fridge. Kids loved the bright decor and having their 'own' TV. Breakfast very average so would suggest you eat elsewhere particularly when it's in such a great central location. Would definitely recommend. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely French hotel

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location Staff Home made conserves for breakfast Private parking next door
Cons: I prefer walk-in showers to showers over a bath A lounge bar would improve the amenities
Quirky place, excellent and friendly staff Very good location overlooking a typical square in France