Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Good location within easy walking distance to many restaurants and there was easy parking in the garage of the hotel. The hotel layout is a bit odd and the rooms are somewhat dated. Our room was in an older wing where the whole room slanted to one side, including the bed which made it uncomfortable. The towels were tired and worn and the breakfast buffet had been raided due to some EuroCup traffic at the hotel - the staff did seem a bit overwhelmed but helpful. Overall it was standard Mercure fare, not really four star in my book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good quality city centre base

Posted Jan 20, 2016
This is hotel is in a very fine building at the centre of a historic city. Our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and well equipped although the view into the inner well of the buildings was perhaps not the best that the hotel could offer. An underground car park was a bonus in a city where parking and road space are at a premium. Wi-fi was good when it worked. The quality and friendliness of the staff sets this hotel apart. The waitress who cheerfully served us a meal in an empty dining room at 10 pm. The helpful front desk staff who seemed to think of things from the customer's rather than the hotel's point of view. The chambermaid who greeted us with a cheerful smile. The reason for our visit was urgent and distressing. The attitude of the hotel staff did much to reduce the stresses of a very difficult few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Well located very comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The hotel is very well located near the station and the centre of town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and well equipped for 2 adults and a toddler and there was a good selection for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great hotel, good location.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location on edge of old city. Very good breakfast. Large comfortable quiet room with view of garden. Very pleasant and interesting city for 2 days.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Architecture, cathedral, lively streets with lots of students. Lively night life with bars and restaurants. Good market across the street.
Enjoyed 2 days in Angouleme walking old city. Lively old city with lots of students. Lively night life with bars and restaurants. Cathedral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York, New York

Good hotel in Coty center

Posted May 13, 2015
We had a very good stay with a balcony view over the garden and city. Hotel is in a great location for walking the beautiful walled perimeter of the center city. Great views, nice park walk nearby also. Dinner at the hotel on the terrace was very nice. Minimalist but comfortable rooms., very clean. The hotel seems somewhat geared for business travelers but was an excellent place for our one night stopover. Would definitely recommend. Very nice breakfast as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ticked all the boxes

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff Good bar and restaurant Useable car park - unlike Mercure Rouen
Cons: The Restaurant was limited but adequate
Location: Good location next to Les Halles and bars/restaurants Recommend Chez Paul Restaurant
After our experience of Mercure La Rochelle, we upgraded our room to a suite which was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing break

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Location: It was in a perfect position, away from the town and close enough to walk into the town
Very clean hotel, staff were very friendly, ideal parking underneath the hotel and very secure. We only stayed one night but found it very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good hotel close to restaurants/old town

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Its modern feel, friendly staff and closeness to restaurants and the old town. On site parking was very handy.
Cons: Not very much.
Location: Handy for the market, old town and shops and walking the city remparts/walls
We had stayed at the Mercure in Angouleme before when we had a house in the area. The hotel was clean and bright, handy for restaurants and the 'old town', staff were pleasant and helpful, and there was plenty of choice for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

location,location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: location
Location: restaurants, shopping,old city to explore
great location,clean, comfortable,super breakfast.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well located, clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Well located in old quarter - modern facilities. Breakfast pricey at €15.