Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Good location within easy walking distance to many restaurants and there was easy parking in the garage of the hotel. The hotel layout is a bit odd and the rooms are somewhat dated. Our room was in an older wing where the whole room slanted to one side, including the bed which made it uncomfortable. The towels were tired and worn and the breakfast buffet had been raided due to some EuroCup traffic at the hotel - the staff did seem a bit overwhelmed but helpful. Overall it was standard Mercure fare, not really four star in my book.
4 out of 5
by Raymond

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Angouleme is an excellent destination
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good quality city centre base

Posted Jan 20, 2016
This is hotel is in a very fine building at the centre of a historic city. Our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and well equipped although the view into the inner well of the buildings was perhaps not the best that the hotel could offer. An underground car park was a bonus in a city where parking and road space are at a premium. Wi-fi was good when it worked. The quality and friendliness of the staff sets this hotel apart. The waitress who cheerfully served us a meal in an empty dining room at 10 pm. The helpful front desk staff who seemed to think of things from the customer's rather than the hotel's point of view. The chambermaid who greeted us with a cheerful smile. The reason for our visit was urgent and distressing. The attitude of the hotel staff did much to reduce the stresses of a very difficult few days.
4 out of 5
by Christine from Lancaster

Overnight stop on journey south

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel in the centre of the town. Thank goodness for Sat Nav. Good secure parking garage
4 out of 5
by Johan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steve from London

fabulous room, restaurant and friendly staff

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is a gem of a hotel. The design and decoration are beautiful and it's right in the heart of the town with wonderful gardens and views of the town. Restaurant is outstanding. Thanks to all the reception, bar and restaurant staff who were there on 1st January
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Chipperfield

Perfect stop over on way to Spain/Dieppe

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Second time at the Hotel. Just as good as first time and in a perfect place for all amenities in this beautiful town.
5 out of 5
by philippe from st ^palais sur mer

Bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
Soirée étape ( 24/12)où le personnel a tout fait pour nous apporter satisfaction
5 out of 5
by Jan-Ulrik from Copenhagen, Denmark

Nice hotel in the old town

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with lovely rooms and a nice restaurant with very good breakfast. situated in the old town with a lot of good restaurants. The hotel can highly be recommended.
5 out of 5
by Jan-Ulrik from København

Dejligt hotel i den gamlebydel

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Dejligt hotel i den gamle bydel af Angouleme med rigtig gode spisesteder og hyggelig atmosfære. Dejlig morgenmad og store rummelige værelser. Helt klart at anbefalde