Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay here
5 out of 5
by annette from Murrieta, CA

A Must Stay! We'll be back.

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
The bartender/waiter was so interesting. He took time to proudly tell us the history of the chateau. The bar and restaurant are beautiful. One can purchase the estate's pineau. Lovely stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wpg, Canada

Charming old classic

Posted Oct 13, 2015
The Domains du Breuil is a charming older hotel. Don't let the exterior appearance deter you as the large rooms are comfortable and clean and the helpful staff was delightful to deal with. The entire property was scenic and serene. Did not have the breakfast but the dinner and service was first class. Would gladly stay here again on any future visits to Cognac. It is a bit of a distance from the city centre and a car is probably best but the location makes for a quiet and peaceful stay. The bar also has a great selection of cognacs for those who appreciate the eaux de vie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is OK but do not eat there!

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Restaurant is not an good pick! The water could be hotter.
3 out of 5
by Sabrina from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful old fashioned charm, friendly staff, great views. The room was clean but a bit small, could do with air conditioning and windows that open without moving furniture. Overall a very pleasant stay and a refreshing change from the more corporate styled hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carolyn from Chicago

A charming stay.

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed there one night before going to Paris. The hotel is a charming old mansion overlooking beautiful grounds. The staff was very friendly. This is an older home; circa 1850 with no air conditioning, but it was still quite comfortable. We had a romantic dinner in the hotel restaurant. The dining room was elegant and the food was fantastic. This hotel is a great find, especially for the price! We wish we could have stayed longer. We are looking forward to returning.
4 out of 5
by thomas from London

Charecterful Chateau with gret staff.

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stopped here for the night during a motorbike tour through france. Plenty of character, beautiful grounds. Safe and quiet. Rooms a bit dated but perfectly clean and comfortable with good showers. The main guy on site was incredibly informative about cognac and wine and talked to us for ages during dinner in fluent English. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place in beautiful surroundings.

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great place in beautiful and quiet surroundings. A short drive from the major Cognac houses. A stunning old building with large comfortable guest rooms. This is place has character that most standard hotels lack. We loved it!
4 out of 5
by Peter from UK

Very nice - would stay again

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is in a nice, characterful building - a private chateau - and our (deluxe) room had a great view overlooking the woods and nearby fields. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. Dinner wasn't available on the (national holiday) day we stayed, so can't comment on the restaurant. It's also a dog (and other pet) friendly hotel - vital to us. Would certainly stay there again.