Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bideford, UK

Nice view shame about the hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Overall the hotel appears "tired" - faded carpets and the air of better in bygone days. Arrived at 2pm only to find there was no running water in the whole hotel which did not get reconnected until after 6pm - despite alerting reception no apologies were offered by management other than the Gallic shrug - I add that this despite several complaints by myself and my wife and we both speak fluent French. Finally when the water supply was restored there was no hot water that night, the following morning and the following evening. Once again the staff did not seem concerned - maybe they thought it odd that their guests might like to shower!! Breakfasts and the sea view were the only good things about the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by L'équipe CERISE, Hotel Management
Dear NickB, Thanks you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hear your complains and we are sorry that you have such a bad memory of your stay. Nevertheless we would like to point out that we are not responsible for the “hot water issue”. Some public works caused a general blackout in the area. Our boilers were impacted, and did not automatically turn on when the electricity came back. This is why there was no more hot water in the property. As soon as we noticed the issue we turn on the boilers and 15 minutes later there was again hot water in the hotel. We took the time to alert all our customers about this, so we don’t understand what happen. We apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you again in Royan, to offer you this time a flawless stay. Best Regards. The CERISE Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Local

Near the beach, the hotel was clean but dated.

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: close to casino
Cons: needs updating
Location: Town center position, so close to shops, beach and casino
Just needed a bed for the night as I did not want to drive home after visiting the casino for the evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by L'équipe CERISE, Hotel Management
Dear Momo, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We took good note of your comment. We started a renovation plan to modernize our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you again in Royan. Best Regards. The CERISE Staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, very nice staff, lovely dining room with sea view and nice breakfast.
Cons: See comments above. General maintenance could have resolved the problems we encountered.
Location: Superb sheltered beach, safe for children. A range of restaurants and cafes are close by.
The facilities were generally good, however, the television would not work (couldn't change channels) and switched itself on on the middle of the night- very annoying. It was only possible to open one side of the double doors onto the balcony, the blind would not close fully, and the curtains could not easily be closed. The hotel does not offer any parking, which is an issue during holiday periods (other hotels in the area do offer parking) when the on street parking is at a premium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by L'équipe Cerise., Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the major part of your stay. We take good note of all your remarks concerning the maintenance (TV, curtains, double doors). Your feedback is precious for us, it helps us to improve the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, next time you plan to visit Royan. See you soon! The Cerise Staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the promonade

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Slightly dated, but that actually added to it's appeal. Very helpful staff who safely locked our bikes away (touring down to Bordeaux). They do need to read their eMails though as I requested a twin room (deux lits) but we were first offered a double. They had one, but check if you go high season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve

Can't be closer to Royan Beach

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Position, helpful staff.
Location: Royan Beach is right there... plenty of restaurants close by too.
I was using this Hotel for a short weekend stay in the region for some business. Comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced for the location, though very much off season.
3 out of 5
by Tomy

Good location, but ...

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Cons: More courtesy.
Good location next to a nice beach. After visiting St Jean de Luz and La Rochelle, Royan is a little disappointing (reminds me of Blackpool). Hotel front desk staff a bit bossy. Breakfast was pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from West Yorkshire, UK

A Hotel with spectacular views

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: The views and relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Lack of Parking
Location: There is no hotel with better views
This hotel has been at one time a 'Grand' Hotel. High ceilings, larger than average rooms and nice quality fittings. The rooms are maintained to a very high level of cleanliness and the staff are friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The rooms are well equipped - we were in a twin room with a sea view. There is a small balcony with French windows which overlook the beautiful bay and beach. The view is stunning and the beach is literally 30m from the hotel entrance.. Breakfast will satisfy the largest of appetites and the dining room overlooks the bay. There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are numerous quality restaurants within 100m - the Moroccan Marrakech is one of the best and literally 80m from the hotel. The decor is a little dated but does not detract from the overall experience. There is very little parking at the hotel (2/3 spaces) but there is free parking nearby - but in high season the car parks are very busy. There is quite a busy road along the beach in front of the hotel but we didn't find the noise too intrusive - but some might. We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephan from Calgary, AB, Canada

Spacious room

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Spacious room and location
Cons: Size of shower stall very small. This would be annoying for a longer stay.
Location: Great location right along the beach.
We stayed there in May 2013 and overall, it was a very pleasant experience. First, the person at the reception was very friendly and professional. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also quite spacious and clean. The only downside is the size of the shower stall. Location is great and many restaurants and business around. Breakfast in the morning was nothing special but very good and the view on the beach in great. It was very quiet. Didn't heard anything in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice seafront position

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Good location
Cons: Lack of parking
Lovely position on the seafront, but no free parking facilities and the rooms and public areas are rather tired. Dining room has been modernised and choice of breakfast is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Norfolk, UK

Reasonable Hotel for a family holliday.

Posted Sep 15, 2012
Pros: the quality and quantity of food at breakfast.
Cons: the interior of the room need upgrading.
Location: Excellent location.
The only 2 things that We found disappointing was. 1. The Hotel write up shows that the bedrooms have a safe to leave your valuable items. The only safe that I found was a fridge. 2. the Hotel write up shows that they have satellite TV. There were 29 channels all foreign, not one English. When you are getting old like we are a little television in the evening goes down well and makes your holiday.