Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Jeff from Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

Great Location

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
In full disclosure, I'm a spoiled American used to staying at Hilton brand hotels. This is a typical, old European hotel with little or no amenities like: air conditioning, king beds, multiple pillows, elevators, car parking area, and quiet evenings. If you can get passed these things, then this is a hotel for you. It is located in the HEART of the pedestrian area of the old town, just 100 yards from the beautiful marina. Every thing is in walking distance from this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Central location. Basic, but clean. Comfortable bed.
Cons: TV with chanels in English
Location: 5 min walk from Cathedral, 3 min from old harbor and towers
Central location of hotel, harbor is whitin 5 min walk. However is pretty noisy at late time of night. No 24 h reception service. A lot of restaurants around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

I enjoyed my stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Very good location in the old town centre, clean room, nice staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jesse from London

Wonderful spot

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
We had such a fantastic stay here that we extended our trip from its intended one night to two. The hotel was fantastically clean and very friendly! La Rochelle is the most beautiful place, and the ile de ré is most definitely worth a visit. The hotels location is perfect- not much more than a minutes walk to the port Thank you hotel Henri IV! We will be back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, lovely staff!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent little 'no-frills' hotel in the heart of La Rochelle. Perfect location for enjoying the city with loads of atmosphere. Being situated in the old part of town and in an original building does mean there is no lift, but that's a small price to pay for the view and the whole experience. The staff are lovely, really helpful and friendly and the breakfast was fresh and tasty. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by Jill from Gt Dunmow

Fleeting visit

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel difficult to locate due to all the one way streets. Parked at station and found hotel by foot. One night stay, lovely evening meal, and day on the beach following day. La Rochelle lovely place to visit.
4 out of 5
by Mangesh from Oslo

Peaceful place.

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
It is a pleasant place to stay in LaRochelle. The hotel is near to the train station and in the heart of the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from braintree, uk

Horrile people

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: train the staff in customer service
Location: the hospital (whi I was taken to at 1:30am) is very close - only 1km!
Arrived with my wife carrying all bags as I had just slipped a disc in my back. Attitude of door staff was typically "Parisian" - aka - didn't care. Wacth ans I hobbled and my wife carried all out bags up 3 flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by family from Australia

Heart of La Rochelle

Posted May 21, 2014
Lovely hotel with the biggest family room we've had in France. Right in the old port. Advantages: charming & walking distance of everything. George the manager was excellent. Disadvantages: cannot drive car into old town and hotel has no lift. It can be a bit loud if you open the window. Overall: highly recommend if you travel lightly.