Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
We intended to stay just for one night on our way south to Spain, but one of our number fell ill after a hectic night out. The hotel was able to accommodate us in the same room and offered to help our party's recovery and transition the next day. Kind and thoughtful members of staff made our stay really memorable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Very nice hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The room was nicely furnished. Sea view.
My partner and I had a very nice stay at the La Maree. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and it was also very quite despite it facing onto the main road. The road outside can be surprisingly busy at certain times but the sound proofing of the room meant we didn't notice any noise at all. We arrived by car and we paid €7 per day to use the hotels secure carpark (located a 5 minute walk away)
5 out of 5
by Ernie from San Diego

Place to Relax & Enjoy

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels
We found the hotel and room very clean and well maintained with great service from the time we checked to when we left. This includes the restaurant and particularly the front desk people. We had a view from our room of the water, bridge and coastline at La Rochelle which was very nice. The hotel has an excellent chef and we stayed for two nights, eat there and found both dinners great. The morning buffet breakfast has all you could want, good variety and fresh. The location is terrific, just after you cross over the bridge and from here you can easily drive up the island to the other cities. Will definitely revisit if and/or when in the area again.
5 out of 5
by Eileen from Leicester

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, our room overlooked the port with a little balcony. The local bus stopped outside the hotel and travelling around the island was easy at the cost of 1 euro each journey. The swimming pool was very nice and the sunbeds comfortable. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Clean and tastefully equipped.
Cons: Size of the room.
Location: Beautiful island, beautiful location.
Only there for one night on route from Nice to Roscoff. Lovely location over looking the sea. Only 44 rooms in a boutique style hotel. I had a standard room with King size double bed that was very comfortable though relatively small compared to the room, but this is clear from the pictures of the hotel. Huge variety at breakfast and delicious. Free parking opposite on the beach. Alternatively the hotel charged 7 euros and was 250 yards away if you want to be more secure. They did not charge for the dog which is very unusual and were very welcoming. Friendly English speaking staff. Would definitely stay there again. The only downside is if you were there for a long stay the bridge toll to the island is 8 euros each way.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy from UK

A little Gem of a Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
Spent 3 nights in Ile de Rei just off La Rochelle. My wife and i loved this hotel, great location and easy to find - just turn right after crossing the bridge and follow the coast road a couple of kms. Room was spacious, very clean and tidy. Small but great pool ideal for a few pre breakfast laps. Breakfast was a bit pricey but great restaurant location overlooking the sea. On street parking was a little tricky with parking meters outside the hotel but go a few hundred meters either side to find a parking spot. Great hotel lounge - playing quite quirky music when we were there - so great to unwind with a beer. Great trendy restaurant just on the corner - come out the hotel and turn right - overlooking the little harbour - wonderful fish, great atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again. Only drawback - the toll over the bridge is quite expensive - so once you are on the island its best to stay for a couple of days. La Maree overlooks the harbour toward La Rochelle - the beaches are on the opposite side of the island but only a few minutes drive away. There is lots to do on the island - look out for the donkeys in trousers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very small room

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Hotel was generally lovely but our room was very small with little room to move around the bed and other furniture.
5 out of 5
by David

Excellent hotel but in a VERY quiet location

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is fantastic. It actually felt more like a 5 star hotel in terms of quality and service. For a 3 star hotel the food is very expensive (but of high quality), but this is because the Ile de Re is a very wealthly area, unlike the more affordable La Rochelle. Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't mind spending £25 per head for lunch and £35 for dinner, or anyone who would rather have a great hotel in a remote area, rather than a basic hotel in the middle of a bustling town.
5 out of 5
by Hobbit

Absolutely Gorgeous

Posted Aug 14, 2012 on Hotels
Only stayed here one night but would go back for longer again. Hotel beautifully decorated with pool and jacuzzi in the back, v comfortable surround to the pool with plenty of loungers. Pool towels available at reception in exchange for tickets given to you at the start of your stay. Bar will deliver drinks to the pool but v steep prices, a bacardi and coke and a bottle of beer was over €20. Was worth it though after a long day exploring. Room was small but beautifully decorated, good sized bathroom with retractable clothes line in the bath. Market very close to the hotel back towards the bridge from the main land. Fantastic boulangerie very close as well. Hotel parking is quite far from the hotel but if you're travelling light it won't be a problem (two blocks over and a street back - yard with a locked gate). After two weeks of hotel hopping along the coast this was still my boyfriend's favourite.