Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil hotel in great location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Gluten free food options, sea side location
Cons: Rooms could do with better light proofing. Curtains let in a lot of light.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided a good selection of gluten free food. It was a good location to hire a bike and explore. Eating outside by the sea was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place.

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
A wonderful place to stay. We will be back, for a longer stay!
5 out of 5
by Alin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel!

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Having been stuck in traffic for nearly 7 hours, due to the farmer's strike, we didnt get to the hotel until late evening. It would have been a nice gesture to offer a complimentary drink, and we had to make use of the tea/coffee facilities in the room (which consisted of one tea bag, one coffee sachet and a herbal tea bag only). The room was satisfactory, and we had a small patio (with table and chairs) outside which was quite dark because of the shrubbery. There was ample toiletries, and a fridge (which contained a small bottle of complimentary water). The food looked very nice, but we found the menu and drinks to be expensive. The best feature of this hotel is it's beachfront location which is absolutely wonderful. It was very relaxing and tranquil. The staff are friendly and i would highly recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from sheffield england

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Peace and quiet. Sea view from room. Location.
Cons: Room cleaning can be obtrusive, go on all day. Corridors full of cleaning carts? More live entertainment at dinner-time?
Location: Tour the island in the little blue car, nice little villages and alternative beaches. Albatross restaurant in walking distance along the coastal path
Quiet location, private beach. Public Oleron beaches can be very busy and inaccessible. Popular with French families. Mix of old/young. Good facilities and food. Spa treatments expensive. little English spoken.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Felixstowe

Return to D'Oleron

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
After more than 20 years we returned to this lovely island.It is now more commercial but still very peaceful, particularly the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay was beautiful - just a shame the weather wasn't! Overall the hotel was well maintained and clean, although we had to report our balcony was flooded as guttering blocked.
5 out of 5
by chris from dorset uk

4 nights on Oleron

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay in a nice hotel on a lovely beach. .We found the evening dinner menu rather monotonous tho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, Cumbria

A luxurious break

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Views, pool, rooms, staff
Cons: menu choice and costing - 30 euros for basic fish and chips
Location: le p'tit train de Saint-Trojan stops right outside the hotel. Trip to Dolus for even bigger and better beach
A really lovely hotel with fantastic views from the restaurant and decked area. Very helpful staff. Great indoor pool and very comfortable rooms. Only 2 downsides - the menu, which was overpriced and limited in choice especially for children and the fact that other guests had their dogs with them!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous location & pool

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here one night with our two kids (6 & 8) - we all loved the deck of the hotel, straight on the beach. The swimming pool (salty!) is large and also well situated, straight on the beach. N.B. low tide reveals racks for oyster farming, definitely would be unpleasant to bash ones feet on. Ocean beaches are ~2 km walk away through the forest, or you can take the "petit train"
5 out of 5
by Marlene from Toronto, Canada

wonderful view of ocean

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels
This was a really nice Novotel, great amenities, and good food.