Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nina from London

Great location but not great atmosphere!

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great position to visit the old port and dine out at local restaurants. We were disappointed by the service which we felt was just overall unfriendly leading to a funny atmosphere in the hotel. Our room was nice but on the small side and the bar area looked nice but no one was ever serving in there of an evening that we saw. The pool area is lovely but small but nice to have in the heart of the town. A good stay but probably would not return to the hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Nazeing

La Rochelle 2015

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
A great hotel in the City Centre. The room was spacious and generally very comfortable although the bed was a little on the firm side. The over bath shower should have had a hook to hang the shower head on but it didn't - this seems to be a theme in many hotels across Europe and I don't understand why. The staff however, were excellent, friendly and professional and I would recommend this hotel to other travellers - it is central to the shops and restaurants, the bus station at Place de Verdun is close by and the train station just a 10 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all amenities

Posted May 18, 2015
Fabulous setting and beautiful authentic French feel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mathieu from PARIS

très bel hôtel

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Belle prestation, notamment les chambres dans la partie ancienne qui sont les plus belles
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christophe from Andrésy

Très bien situé au coeur du centre ville

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Pratique pour sa localisation hyper centre et son parking. Tout se fait à pied, l'aquarium est à 15 mn. Notre chambre ne manquait pas grand chose pour que ce soit parfait : la toile du Velux de la mezzanine cassée, certains endroits des murs mériteraient un coup de blanc. Très calme, Petit déjeuner très bien mais pas à la hauteur d'un 5 étoiles. Astuce pour la chambre : Nous avions la suite familiale 34 , très pratique pour une famille de 4, avec les enfants se partage...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saintes

Bien mais barre à redresser

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: La proximité immédiate du centre ville de la Rochelle, le caractère ancien de la vieille pierre font de cet hôtel un atout incontestable.
Cons: Un sérieux coup de rénovation est à prévoir, afin de ne pas laisser cet hôtel se délabrer encore un peu plus.
Location: Hôtel en plein centre ville, à 2 pas des rues piétonnes et commerciales de la Rochelle, proche du vieux port et de ses activités.
C'est notre deuxième séjour à la Résidence de France, le premier remonte à il y à 7 ans. On peut dire que l'hôtel vieilli mal (boiseries des fenêtres qui se détériorent, un nombre incalculable d'ampoules grillées et non remplacées, bureau dont on a dû resserrer les vis afin de remettre un pied plus que branlant, retouches de peinture affreuses et larges coup de pinceaux gris non effacés sur le plafond blanc, téléphone qui ne fonctionne pas...) tout cela n'est pas digne d'un 4 ou 5 étoiles. Nous avons été un petit peu décus de ce manque d'entretien, il est dommage d'avoir un si bel outil entre les mains et de ne pas le valoriser ou l'entretenir correctement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michel from creteil

agréable séjour

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
2 jours à la découverte de la rochelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

PARFAIT

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel et situation idéale. Accueil très aimable et dévoué.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rolf from Switzerland

Three nice days at La Rochelle

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
Nice and easy hotel in the center of the city. Its great to just step out of the hotel and buy fresh things at the market or a shop or have coffee at small restaurant. Everything was fine for us, however "5 star rating" is slightly exaggerated since in the details the hotel is not perfect.