Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Garrett from Dublin

Wonderful.

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
We will go back, it was gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by Phil from Ireland

La Rochelle

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
Central hotel. Perfect for shopping and aquarium visit. Lovely breakfast. Great location for visiting Ile de Ré. Parking in hotel very tight. Pool small but perfect for children.
5 out of 5
by Pietronella from Horley UK

Delightful hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
This was a birthday treat and the hotel was lovely, staff really nice and the hotel was near the port and airport bus service. The only down thing was our room was on the road side and the traffic was quite noisy but this was not the hotel's fault, a room facing the gardens might have been better
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nina from London

Great location but not great atmosphere!

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great position to visit the old port and dine out at local restaurants. We were disappointed by the service which we felt was just overall unfriendly leading to a funny atmosphere in the hotel. Our room was nice but on the small side and the bar area looked nice but no one was ever serving in there of an evening that we saw. The pool area is lovely but small but nice to have in the heart of the town. A good stay but probably would not return to the hotel again.
4 out of 5
by John from Nazeing

La Rochelle 2015

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
A great hotel in the City Centre. The room was spacious and generally very comfortable although the bed was a little on the firm side. The over bath shower should have had a hook to hang the shower head on but it didn't - this seems to be a theme in many hotels across Europe and I don't understand why. The staff however, were excellent, friendly and professional and I would recommend this hotel to other travellers - it is central to the shops and restaurants, the bus station at Place de Verdun is close by and the train station just a 10 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all amenities

Posted May 18, 2015
Fabulous setting and beautiful authentic French feel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Good location but not 5-Star

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Very good location and free parking!
Cons: A major refurbishment, including M & E services to guarantee hot water and perhaps air-con. Alternatively re-rate at 3-star and reduce room rates.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and tourist spots nearby.
The hotel is in an excellent location, close to shops, historical buildings, restaurants and harbour. However, 5-Star? I don't think so, struggling for three in my book. The decor was very 'tired' in the room with very shabby, corroded window frames. The curtains were hanging off the track. The bathroom was very dark and, for example, the five star detailing of floor to wall joint was a very messy silicon joint - a service duct latch was wedged shut with toilet paper! Fussy perhaps, but we did pay a 5-star fee for the hotel. And, to cap it all, cold shower one morning! Oh, forgot, one lift was out of action for our entire stay.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Ireland

DRive carefully !

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice stay in a very beautiful city.This was a great adventure to a medieval well preserved city. Accessing the hotel and car park was a nightmare....through the narrowest street, through medieval arches, and difficult to find.
3 out of 5
by richardhazlemere from UK

No Aircon & tatty

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
It's not 5 star. It's about 3. Location is very good. Rooms need TLC & are very dated, bar area is nice.