Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not all it looked

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Pleasant room with a comfortable bed.
Cons: Bar/restaurant service
Location: Ile de Re and La Rochelle are both lovely places to visit
After a very friendly and attentive check-in, our room was not ready. No matter; we were offered a coffee while we waited but sadly , it was clear that the one person on duty in the bar/dining room wasn't pleased to be interrupted. This summed up our dining experience really. That first night , we ate in the restaurant but the service was terribly slow. My wife's entrecote main course was a disaster of fat and should never have been served to a client. That was the only night we ate there! On check-out , we were slightly surprised that the reception staff were unaware of our problem, but in fairness(!) , they did remove the charge for the entrecote from the bill. I suppose early October is late-season but that shouldn't make a difference. Breakfasts were similarly understaffed and underwhelming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey CI

Good - but not what we expected!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good proximity to La Rochelle and plenty of parking.
Cons: If the menu had been better we would have eaten there more often. Breakfast is a hit and miss affair depending on the amount of guests staying! Brea
Location: Chose this hotel because of proximity to La Rochelle and Isle de Re.
This "Chateau" is not what we really expected and is not really a Spa hotel. The restaurant is adequate but with a limited menu. We only ate there on the 1st night because of this. Did not use the "spa" facilities. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was very odd with the bath actually in the room itself!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

wonderful

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
perfect. luxurious. fantastic staff. wonderful food, facilities and grounds. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Chic and comfortable hotel. Good sized beds... Modern bathroom, great shower. Hammam and pool a bonus
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shipley

Secret gem near la Rochelle with style & luxury

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I first wanted to stay in hotel & spa du chateau but my family decided instead to stay in a 5 star hotel in la Rochelle which was very disappointing and more expensive It was not worth 5 stars it was more a 3 star for all of us. So the following night we booked and stayed at hotel & spa du chateau. It was amazing. A very impressive building with the wow factors and the grounds at the back are really nice, with sun loungers and coffee table so that you can enjoy a good book to read or a drink. The indoor heated swimming pool is of a very good size and the hammam is great. The reception staff are very nice and great. We ate in the 123 restaurant and the food was exquisite. The menu is very good and I fully recommend it. The staff were very accommodating. I wish we had stayed 2 nights in this hotel instead. I will definitely stay in the hotel when I go back and need to stay in La Rochelle. It is very close to the town centre, not far from the airport and there is a free parking on site which is a bonus compared to 10 euros parking if you will not pay if you stay in a hotel in La Rochelle. The rooms are of a very high finish, with good quality furniture - oak modern and very sleek. The bathrobes provided in the room are great when you want to go to the pool. It is also an excellent base if you want to go and explore l'ile de Ré as it is more or on the route. The wifi is good - no complaints whatsoever from the teenagers boys
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
This was an excellent hotel would definitely recommend it & would certainly use it again.
4 out of 5
by Noel from London

Charming chateau

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Motorbike trip with friends. It was convenient and comfortable for our stay. A beautiful French style chateau.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay and service. Hotel was relatively clean..
5 out of 5
by matthew from Marysville, Ohio

Alternative to Isle-de-Re'

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay if you are planning on visiting Ars-en-Re' France. It is just across the bridge from the island and is a far better value than anything on the Isle-de-Re' itself.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels