Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Daniel from UK

Still a lovely hotel....

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Have stayed here several times now over several years. We decided to return this year with family. The staff have always been very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are always very clean and the hotel is always well presented. It's in a great location for exploring the island and heading back on to the mainland for the day. We ate in the restaurant one evening - though a limited choice on the menu, it's cooked very well and worth a visit. We had breakfast there also one day, which was good. Hoping to stay again when we return to that area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice location

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, close to town centre
Cons: Stayed at The Grand Large. Small hotel. Very clean rooms. Very nice welcome at the hotel on arrival however, lacked in customer service, no avail
Location: Stayed in Rivedoux Plage area which close to local amenities. Bus, bike hire, beach, town centre, tourist information, supermarket, & local market.
Stayed 7 days in Rivedoux Plage area during the 1st week of September 2015. We hired bikes and explored the Island of Ile De Re & LA Rochelle with ease. Lots of things to do within easy reach by bike, bus or car. Lots of history, & places to visit. You are spoilt for choice for beaches on the island ile De Re A definate family location. .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
very nice room, nice entities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel 5minutes from the bridge

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Lovely helpful staff, but not 24/7 reception. Warm clean pool and Jacuzzi outside the front of the hotel. There was a little traffic noise, but it didn't disturb you while relaxing. We hired cycles from the hotel and rode to the next small town for lunch. The hotel's restaurant food looked very good, but we took a 10 minute walk into the village to eat. The one thing missing was a bar within the hotel to get a drink or coffee. There was a coffee machine you could use, but the water container was green at the bottom! We would return for a short stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel, overlooking beautiful beach. Very comfortable room, but unfortunately had no view. Just an enclosed court-yard. Very friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient and comfortable hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Le Grande Large is a small but comfortable and convenient hotel. The accommodation was clean and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. There is a beach just across the road and the town is just five minutes walk away. For those people not keen on cycling everywhere there is a cheap and efficient bus service making it easy to get anywhere on the island. A nice pool, clean and not crowded. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
Was very nice. Close to the sea, friendly staff and the food was great. Breakfast slightly over priced though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Only just on the island but a great place to stay!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Convenient, cheapish, good value, excellent staff, good restaurant and pool with secure parking.
Cons: A kettle in the room with the ability to make drinks.
Location: I would if you gave me enough space!!!
Nice hotel with excellent staff. This hotel is only just on the island of Ile de Re but was a great place to stay as long as you don't want to be in the middle of everything. The pool looked great and family friendly but I am not a pool guy so didn't use it. The restaurant was really good with excellent nouvelle cuisine and a good wine list. The service was most attentive although on the rainy Saturday night I ate there I was the only diner for most of my meal although by the time I left the place was very well patronised. Secure parking for the motorcycle was appreciated as was the fuss-free, free and unlimited wifi access. The room was not totally up to date but was clean and well furnished with plenty of free grooming items in the bathroom, extra pillows and blankets and a really effective air-conditioner. All this with the beach literally across the road and the whole of Ile de Re at your disposal makes it a great place to stay as long as you are prepared to drive or cycle to find the action(!) on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grannyjac from Nottingham

Perfect for the beach

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Quietness and location. The comfortable bed.
Cons: The airconditioning unit was noisy. Perhaps a service is requried.
Location: Very easy to find at the end of the toll bridge from la Rochelle. Convenient to tour the island from here.
A warm welcome awaited us when we checked in. As the hotel was quiet we were upgraded to a sea-view room and it was lovely. The room was air conditioned and the king-sized bed, very comfortable. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom for our use. However, the shower was in/over the bath and it was a very small space to shower in. The water is lovely and soft. We had dinner in the adjacent Hotel owned restaurant and this was delicious but pricey. The Hotel is very conveniently situated at the end of the bridge connecting Ile de Re to la Rochelle and there is ample safe, free parking opposite the Hotel. There is a swimming pool & jaccuzzi but we did not use either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from Brit living in France

Nice quiet area, lovely pool although closed until

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Pool area cleanliness reception staff
Cons: room had rather a poor outlook on to a small enclosed courtyard, so there was really no view out of the room which was rather small
Location: Opposite a lovely beach and free car park. Within walking distance of cafes and restaurants although many were closed so early in the season
Very welcoming receptionist, hotel spotlessly clean and situation good, facing the sea. The restaurant had a big terrace overlooking the sea. We read the hotel's literature saying the pool was open from April to September but when we arrived (April 6th) we were told it does not open until mid-April.