Ratings based on 3,721 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Nice hotel,excellent location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is very nice and close to national art gallery. Walk distance to Westminster arbby and Buckingham palace. Subway is near by. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Room was clean. There is laundry machine free for use. Reasonable price. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Spacious room .. very old feel to it .. needs a more inviting cleaner feel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

reasonable

Posted Aug 21, 2017
was not that grand. missing items like tea spoons. card key fsiled. make shift bathroom similar to a caravan feel. not all at all to my expectations. the elevator is unresponsive and un timely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Excellent staff that was very helpful during our stay. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Very nice hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: See above!
Cons: Maybe a little more coffee available in our room or in the lobby.
Location: See above!
This was a very nice hotel in a great neighborhood and just steps away from Trafalgar Square - the center of London city - and many, many other attractions and sights. Many transportation stops, restaurants, groceries and other shops nearby. About 4 blocks away from the Embankment along the Thames River - so cool! The best thing, absolutely, is the location. But the hotel itself is very nice and we had a lovely room with a kitchenette and nice TV. The view from our room was over the rooftops of London right to Big Ben! Really neat! The staff was very nice & helpful. Our flight from the US arrived early in the morning & our room wasn't ready, which we expected. But they stowed all our luggage and even provided a washroom where we could change in to clean clothes and even take a shower if we wanted before traveling out to start our sightseeing! The first thing we did was walk to the Changing of the Queen's Horse Guard which was just a few blocks away! We truly did enjoy our stay at the Trafalgar, would recommend it highly and would most probably book it again if we ever get to London again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, it was very convenient to be outside of Trafalgar Square.
Cons: The food at the lobby restaurant Boyd's was mediocre and pricey, especially for a continental breakfast. Dining outside the hotel is preferable.
Location: Walking distance to London Eye, Big Ben, National Gallery, Buckingham Palace, West End, Picadilly Circus.
This hotel is walking distance to most places I wanted to see during my London visit: London Eye, Big Ben, National Gallery, Buckingham Palace, West End, etc. The closest Underground station is Charing Cross and it's only a few stops away from dining/markets at Convent Garden and the British museum. It took about an hour to get to and from the Heathrow airport on the Picadilly line. I found the rooms to be clean with great amenities. Free launderette, purified drinking water on each floor, spacious room with smart TV to watch Hulu, Netflix, etc. It was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Amazingly peaceful block next to Trafalgar Square

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Have the hotel bar stay open later than !8PM!
Location: see above
This hotel is lovely - well maintained, friendly staff, and very comfortable rooms. It's on a tree-lined block just off Trafalgar Square, and is very peaceful. Nice pubs abound, and it's just a short walk to the Embankment and Houses of Parliament. Also perfectly located for wandering St.James and Green Parks, and gazing at Buckingham Palace. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. Thanks to the Grand!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Small but cozy room

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Can't complain. Fairly affordable clean room close to the tube and many attractions. Big Ben, river thames and south bank are within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem

Luxury, close to Trafalgar square

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: luxury, centered, self cooking etc.
Cons: Lobby missing Breakfast not included
Location: trafalgar
Room equiped for self cooking. Everything ok, but expected a bit more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Would definitely stay here again!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We were at the Grand at Trafalgar Square for two nights in early August. We had four adults in the room with a double/queen bed and a pull-out sofa bed. The main bed was extremely comfortable. The sofa bed was...a sofa bed, so the mattress was thin and our two adult sons weren't hugely comfortable. But if you had small kids, it would be great. Other than that, we loved the room. It was clean and attractive, with nice amenities. It had a small kitchenette with tea service, a fridge, sink, and microwave. And the bathroom was spotless with a deep soaking tub. The location was excellent! It's across a street and only about a half block away from the Charing Cross Underground stop, so you can leave the hotel and be on a train in about five minutes. It's only a half block from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery, and about a 10-15 minute walk to the Parliament building and Westminster Abbey. We also walked to Buckingham Palace...maybe a 20-30 minute walk (we took the scenic route through St. James Park). But it's so easy to hop on the Tube and get anywhere in the city quickly. You can't beat the location of this hotel for easy access to just about any attraction if you're a tourist. The hotel is also next door to an amazing bakery and a couple of cafes that have great, inexpensive food. Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Grand at Trafalgar and would definitely stay again!