Ratings based on 953 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great boutique hotel in the middle of historic Cha

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly valet, nightly wine and cheese, easy walking access to the historic parts of Charleston.
Cons: The kids thought the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable.
Spent two days here with a family of 4 (kids 11 and 13) in one of the townhome units. It was great having some seperation (two levels) between us and the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Tim for choosing to stay with us and bring your family to Charleston. Glad you enjoyed all those little extras here at the inn and we hope to welcome y'all back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co.

Nice B & B in the heart of downtown Charleston

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Location: Right in the center of town
Charming Bed & Breakfast in the center of downtown Charleston. Good location, nice rooms, nice staff. could use a little updating. The breakfast that was included was nice but could be a little homier, there is only an outdoor space to enjoy it which is tough when it is chilly out. You can take your food to a sitting area on another floor but that is not convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Tammy and we're so glad that you chose to stay with us. Our terrace is a hit with a lot of our guests so we're happy to hear that you enjoyed it as well. Travel safe and do come back to see us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Loved this hotel. It was clean, close to everything, and the staff was extremely helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Nicole! We're delighted that you enjoyed it so much and our desk staff will be happy to know that they were so helpful to you. Please do come back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wanted to love it, great location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
I booked this as a romantic, relaxing getaway for my fiancé and I. Love the location of the Inn and wanted the historic feel. The walls are paper thin and can hear everything- at least in the room we had. It sounded like they were moving furniture above our room as early as 6am daily. Couldn't get any sleep at night either as you could hear everyone on the hallways too. Tried to not complain, but after 2 nights of hardly any sleep we said something in hopes of getting a quieter room for the last night at least. They told us we should have complained earlier, cause now they are booked and can't move us. They ended up crediting our valet parking, but honestly wasn't enough. When spending that kind of money on a room for 3 nights $25 parking doesn't mean much. Will definitely stay somewhere else next time. Would've given them another chance on a different room if it was handled differently. We go to Charleston a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We're terribly sorry that you did not have the restful stay that you were hoping for. While I'm sure it isn't of much help, the $75 credit was meant to be an apology for not being able to relocate you during your stay. Again, we're sorry that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay and we do hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We had a wonderful stay here while down for a college open house. We decided we need to come back and explore more and will certainly keep this Inn at the top of our list.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We're ecstatic that we impressed enough to be at the top of your list when coming back to Charleston! Thank you so very much and we do hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor public facilities

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: No it is a basic concept of a Guest Hose and not a luxary hotel/
Location: Good Location
for a such high rating hotel the public facilities are poor. The loby is at a diferent building. No space for brakefast.It is more like guest house than a 4.5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you were confused about common areas and seating. In your building there was a 3-story atrium with seating available, there was a terrace open at anytime for our guests, and the lobby is a great place to stop when returning to the hotel, or for refreshments on your way out for the day. Please come back and check us out when you have more time to explore all that we offer here at the inn. Thanks and safe travels.
5 out of 5
by astrid

Convenient, clean hotel with *included extras

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a real pleasure. The staff was extremely friendly and service was excellent. We were able to park at the hotel. Best of all, this hotel is in the heart of all activities in historic Charleston. The wine & cheese tasting every day on the patio was a real treat. And the included breakfast was extensive, not just muffins and coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed everything so much and were impressed by all of our little extras. The wine and cheese reception is a big hit with most guests and we're glad you took advantage of it. Please do come back and stay with us again and explore some more of Charleston!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
WAs pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. The valet was timely and friendly. Fresh baked cookies were an added touch. Bed very comfortable , liked the robes, and choice of toiletries. Would have like bottled water in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hey thank you so very much for your stay and for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and staff and do hope that you'll join us again in the future. Thanks again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your stay and your high rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute but does not provide parking

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room is small but cute, the marble top of the side table is cracked into two pieces from the middle when we arrived. Hotel does not provide parking space unless you want to pay $25 per day for valet, even though the adjacent inn offers free self parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay. And, thank you for bringing the cracked table to our attention before you checked out. Our parking rates are consistent with the area and we can guarantee you the 'adjacent inn' does not include free parking but builds that into their rates. Glad you enjoyed your time and we do hope that you'll be back to see us again.