Ratings based on 1,399 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by jill

Definitely 5 star

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Charleston is really nice to visit, better than Savannah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Amazing hotel and staff, with beautiful and luxurious rooms, close to all that historical and downtown Charleston has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the historic district

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Our family stayed on the club level of the Belmond for 3 nights. We all felt that is was well worth the additional cost. The service, food and drinks were beyond our expectations. Everything was elegant, staff was knowledgeable and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Weaverville, NC

Beautiful Elegant Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: It's around the corner from The Jewish Synagogue that we wanted to see. Down the street from the Museum of Charleston and a close walk to the Market
Had a wonderful and romantic stay. Everything was great. Ate in the Charleston Grill for Valentines dinner, it deserves all of the 5 star ratings ! Highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion and treat to yourself !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Lovely and lively hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Hotel had been redecorated since our last visit. It was beautiful. The Palmetto cafe is very open, bright and cheery. The staff were ALL on the same level as a Ritz Carlton in friendliness and helpfulness. Our only complaint was with housekeeping on Sunday. They were in our room cleaning at 5:30 just as we returned after a long day of sightseeing. We were ready for showers and a rest but had to wait. Also, the bathroom amenities were not complete either day we were there. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay for us. We would definitely return to the Charleston Place.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Immaculately clean, posh, great customer experience. We stay frequently stat at the Ritz..this was everything we have come to expect with a little more Southern charm..we were be back!
5 out of 5
by Adam

AMAZING STAFF!!!!

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The entire staff was extremely helpful and polite. I could not have asked for anything else, they all went above and beyond. 2 of your staff that stood out to me were leann at the concierges desk and Robert at teh bell hop desk. They were great and the Leann made our stay super special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Room sound

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall, the hotel is an absolutely beautiful property! Also, the staff could not have been more friendly.
Location: The location is excellent for any activity and the staff was more than helpful with ideas and transportation.
It was actually very quite in the hotel and on the hall, but if was strangely noisy in the room. We could hear the people in the room next to us, which I am guessing means they could hear us too. Other than that, the room was lovely and very comfortable. The recent renovation was extremely well done.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
If you are spending $400 plus a night, a comfortable mattress should be expected. The mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. Other than that, excellent visit.