Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Immaculately clean, posh, great customer experience. We stay frequently stat at the Ritz..this was everything we have come to expect with a little more Southern charm..we were be back!
5 out of 5
by Adam

AMAZING STAFF!!!!

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The entire staff was extremely helpful and polite. I could not have asked for anything else, they all went above and beyond. 2 of your staff that stood out to me were leann at the concierges desk and Robert at teh bell hop desk. They were great and the Leann made our stay super special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Room sound

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall, the hotel is an absolutely beautiful property! Also, the staff could not have been more friendly.
Location: The location is excellent for any activity and the staff was more than helpful with ideas and transportation.
It was actually very quite in the hotel and on the hall, but if was strangely noisy in the room. We could hear the people in the room next to us, which I am guessing means they could hear us too. Other than that, the room was lovely and very comfortable. The recent renovation was extremely well done.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
If you are spending $400 plus a night, a comfortable mattress should be expected. The mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. Other than that, excellent visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with great amenities close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This hotel has lots of places to eat and even serves tapas late in the bar. It is close to everything downtown Charleston has to offer - shopping, great dining , historic mansions and museums. Great spa with pool. Fourth floor room was large, super quiet and very comfortable. The most towels I have seen in a hotel room. Room service menu is pricey but who needs it with everything Charleston has to offer.
5 out of 5
by Paula

Beautiful hotel in the HEART ❤️ of Charleston!

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great overall experience and a perfect location!
5 out of 5
by Jean

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
We needed a one night stay before our cruise the next day. I wanted somewhere close to the cruise terminal. I did not know anything about this hotel before we stayed there. The place is absolutely beautiful! The lobby has a beautiful staircase with 2 sets of stairs that meet at the top. The lobby was decorated for Christmas. It was beautiful! I never do room service because I personally don't want to spend the extra money for that but this time we had no choice. After driving 8 hours we were not about to force 2 kids back into the car to go get supper. The restaurant was booked since it was Christmas day. The room service food was well worth the money. Excellent food and we didn't have to get the kids out. I will definitely stay there again if I'm in that area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY,NY

Getting Better with Age

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We have been coming here around Christmas for over 10 years. Rooms and commons continue to be updated and are clean and fresh. Staff could not be friendlier. Only complaint was the pillows originally provided were synthetic and overstuffed. Once we asked new down pillows that were much more comfortable were brought immediately. Keep up the great work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Everything about our stay at the Belmond Charleston Place was excellent!! The room was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Fantastic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
I greatly appreciate the professional and friendly services provided by staff with valet, housekeeping, and the Club floor. Some front desk staff need to work on improving customer service - no need to be rude with guests. Be thankful you have a job in an excellent hotel.