Ratings based on 1,191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Close to everything but really rude staff

Posted Dec 27, 2015
We went to Charleston on Christmas weekend with our two little girls. The moment we checked in, the Front Desk guy, very RUDELY said "We are having conversation with Expedia, they are selling Free Breakfast in the package, which we have not authorized, but we will give it to you.." My husband said Thank you, but oh boy, the breakfast haunted us.. On the day of our check out and they charged us 65$ for one day breakfast, which we did not understand. After much discussion, which went from we charged you for your kids breakfast (which btw are 4 and 1 year old) to you should do ONLY continental breakfast..the ARROGANT looking front desk girl waived it, and behaved as if she did a CHARITY on us.. If that was not enough, to add to my humiliation, the moment I went to get our breakfast for that day, did she immediately called the restaurant and said NOT TO GIVE ME ANYTHING EXCEPT CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST Not sure where was I wrong in the whole scenario..but I paid enough to have paid for the breakfast too..had I been told that the package did not include it. The way whole thing was handled by Hotel was super annoying and humiliating, so I would rate this Hotel, specifically the Front Desk staff as BELOW AVERAGE. Also would say that Expedia should have made sure what they have on their Site is ACCURATE.. Thanks Really annoyed customer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel near attractions

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel is close to everything. Staff is very professional and work hard to make sure you are happy and having a great vacation experience.
Cons: Housekeeping service...they do a great job once they get to your room but missed us entirely on one day and had to call management the second day.
Location: You are close to walking tours, carriage tours, fabulous dining, banks and churches.
The hotel and staff were fabulous with the lone exception of housekeeping. On one of our four days we stayed at the hotel housekeeping did not service our room at all. The next day we only received housekeeping service when we finally called management after first calling housekeeping. The remainder of our stay housekeeping was prompt and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BK

Great Hotel excellent food and location

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Was there for a few days liked the hotel very nice and excellent food great location. Unfortunately Car Parking is $30 daily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great location between King and Meeting Streets

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Location. It is between Meeting and King. There is parking right at the hotel.
Cons: The Thoroughbred Club. It is too small for the volume of business.
Location: Restaurants, shopping, courts and banks are all nearby. A premium location.
This is a premium hotel at a premium location in a highly competitive lodging and restaurant market. I have stayed at this hotel many times over many years during different franchises and owners. Belmond is doing an excellent job with this hotel. The hotel has been renovated in the last year. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and user-friendly. There is free WiFi. The walk-in shower was great. No complaints at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful hotel, centrally located

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Location, room decor and service
Cons: Coffee makers in the room, lighting
Location: Close too all restaurants and shopping area
We stayed at a newly renovated room on the 5th floor. Although there was construction on the 4th floor, it was impossible to know. Spa treatments were done elsewhere, for example. We missed having a coffee maker in the room and the lighting switches were awful to operate. Other than that, it was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Beautiful hotel with world class accomodations. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location in the center of Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from loudonville, ny

Beautiful hotel close to everything.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to carriage rides, market place,restaurants. Can walk to everything.
One of the nicest hotels we ever stayed at .everyone was so pleasant. True southern hospitality. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia South Carolina

disappointed

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The comfortable beds and the windows decoration.
Cons: The hotel should have rooms for handicapped people, it is available in hotels of lower categories.
Location: Good location and good restaurants in the area.
Celebrating my husband's 90th. birthday, a very special occasion. We requested a handicapped room and the one we received did not have handrails to hold into when using the shower nor was the room supplied with a seating stool to allow for dressing in the restroom. Also, the noise coming from the room next to us was very disturbing. To complete our disappointment, the glass in our room window was constantly fogged with humidity not allowing for a clear view of the exterior. We stayed in room 639.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the heart of Charleston.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel. Everything was perfect. It was a quick stay, I only wish I had more time to enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott

A+

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. Rooms were very clean, entire staff was friendly. Would highly recommend.