Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
I greatly appreciate the professional and friendly services provided by staff with valet, housekeeping, and the Club floor. Some front desk staff need to work on improving customer service - no need to be rude with guests. Be thankful you have a job in an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Outstanding hotel in the center of activity

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the rooms, the pool / spa, the parking convenience and the two bars.
Cons: There is a lot of street traffic cutting through the Hotel between King and Meeting Streets.
Location: This Hotel opens onto the main shopping areas and is very close to all that CHS has to offer.
My family and I have been coming to CHS the weekend before Christmas for many years now. We always try to stay at Charleston Place. It is centrally located, the Hotel is very festive during the Holidays, the rooms are spacious, the Thoroughbred and Market at Meeting are great bars, and there is a parking garage conveniently located on the property. While there are many first rate places to stay in CHS, it is tough to match this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlingame Ca

Gracious Elegance

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This is our 3rd stay at this hotel and every year it has been perfect. We come to visit our daughter in the Navy and this hotel hs become one of special memories for us. Love the Christmas spirit and decor, the massive train set and village display beneath the mist spectacular chandelier, the room is exquisite, restaurant is just perfect. Shopping is wonderful right inside the hotel. Love the parking garage, the location could not be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very elegant

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!
Hotel was in the center of everything. It was walking distance to what we wanted to do. Beautifully decorated for Christmas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
AC compressor noisy. Otherwise great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, Great room - Excellence!

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall great stay. I LOVE this hotel. Its beautiful, great amenities, excellent location. The only downside to our stay was the bathtub handles were broken - outside of that everything was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in the heart of historic district.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Refurbished rooms & fabulous food & drinks. Too hot to be cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The room was big and comfortable. The pool was a highlight. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the bar had a solid cocktail list
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming larger hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The Belmond had recently renovated the floor we stayed on and it was very pleasant. Checkin was easy and quick and all the staff through the stay were friendly and ready to help. Wanted to stay longer, and plan to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Exceptional hotel in the perfect location!

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel is beautiful and clean. The amenities are great and we loved the rainfall shower. Only complaint is that most of the rooms are adjoined so it can be noisy if you have loud neighbors. Otherwise it's a fabulous hotel and within walking distance of all the restaurants, shopping and museums in downtown Charleston.