Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over Looked

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Beautiful inside with amazing restaurants.
Cons: Wish they had fixed the broken hand held shower when we requested it. It would have shown me they are accommodating and listen to their customers.
Location: Charleston location, with a lot of shops to explore.
We arrived on Saturday and the staff was extremely helpful and polite. The first thing Sunday morning we realized the over head "rain" shower was great but the handheld shower was broken which is what my wife prefers. So that morning we went to the front desk asking if they could fix it. We were assured that the work order was put in. By Monday morning it still wasn't fixed. Again, I went down to ask them if they could but we left Tuesday morning and it still wasn't fixed. On one of the days, our room wasn't cleaned until at 4 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Amazing hotel and staff, with beautiful and luxurious rooms, close to all that historical and downtown Charleston has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the historic district

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Our family stayed on the club level of the Belmond for 3 nights. We all felt that is was well worth the additional cost. The service, food and drinks were beyond our expectations. Everything was elegant, staff was knowledgeable and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Weaverville, NC

Beautiful Elegant Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: It's around the corner from The Jewish Synagogue that we wanted to see. Down the street from the Museum of Charleston and a close walk to the Market
Had a wonderful and romantic stay. Everything was great. Ate in the Charleston Grill for Valentines dinner, it deserves all of the 5 star ratings ! Highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion and treat to yourself !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Lovely and lively hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Hotel had been redecorated since our last visit. It was beautiful. The Palmetto cafe is very open, bright and cheery. The staff were ALL on the same level as a Ritz Carlton in friendliness and helpfulness. Our only complaint was with housekeeping on Sunday. They were in our room cleaning at 5:30 just as we returned after a long day of sightseeing. We were ready for showers and a rest but had to wait. Also, the bathroom amenities were not complete either day we were there. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay for us. We would definitely return to the Charleston Place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Immaculately clean, posh, great customer experience. We stay frequently stat at the Ritz..this was everything we have come to expect with a little more Southern charm..we were be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Room sound

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall, the hotel is an absolutely beautiful property! Also, the staff could not have been more friendly.
Location: The location is excellent for any activity and the staff was more than helpful with ideas and transportation.
It was actually very quite in the hotel and on the hall, but if was strangely noisy in the room. We could hear the people in the room next to us, which I am guessing means they could hear us too. Other than that, the room was lovely and very comfortable. The recent renovation was extremely well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with great amenities close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This hotel has lots of places to eat and even serves tapas late in the bar. It is close to everything downtown Charleston has to offer - shopping, great dining , historic mansions and museums. Great spa with pool. Fourth floor room was large, super quiet and very comfortable. The most towels I have seen in a hotel room. Room service menu is pricey but who needs it with everything Charleston has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY,NY

Getting Better with Age

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We have been coming here around Christmas for over 10 years. Rooms and commons continue to be updated and are clean and fresh. Staff could not be friendlier. Only complaint was the pillows originally provided were synthetic and overstuffed. Once we asked new down pillows that were much more comfortable were brought immediately. Keep up the great work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Everything about our stay at the Belmond Charleston Place was excellent!! The room was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Fantastic experience.