Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel in the heart of Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Immaculately clean, posh, great customer experience. We stay frequently stat at the Ritz..this was everything we have come to expect with a little more Southern charm..we were be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Room sound

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall, the hotel is an absolutely beautiful property! Also, the staff could not have been more friendly.
Location: The location is excellent for any activity and the staff was more than helpful with ideas and transportation.
It was actually very quite in the hotel and on the hall, but if was strangely noisy in the room. We could hear the people in the room next to us, which I am guessing means they could hear us too. Other than that, the room was lovely and very comfortable. The recent renovation was extremely well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with great amenities close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This hotel has lots of places to eat and even serves tapas late in the bar. It is close to everything downtown Charleston has to offer - shopping, great dining , historic mansions and museums. Great spa with pool. Fourth floor room was large, super quiet and very comfortable. The most towels I have seen in a hotel room. Room service menu is pricey but who needs it with everything Charleston has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY,NY

Getting Better with Age

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We have been coming here around Christmas for over 10 years. Rooms and commons continue to be updated and are clean and fresh. Staff could not be friendlier. Only complaint was the pillows originally provided were synthetic and overstuffed. Once we asked new down pillows that were much more comfortable were brought immediately. Keep up the great work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Everything about our stay at the Belmond Charleston Place was excellent!! The room was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Fantastic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
I greatly appreciate the professional and friendly services provided by staff with valet, housekeeping, and the Club floor. Some front desk staff need to work on improving customer service - no need to be rude with guests. Be thankful you have a job in an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Outstanding hotel in the center of activity

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the rooms, the pool / spa, the parking convenience and the two bars.
Cons: There is a lot of street traffic cutting through the Hotel between King and Meeting Streets.
Location: This Hotel opens onto the main shopping areas and is very close to all that CHS has to offer.
My family and I have been coming to CHS the weekend before Christmas for many years now. We always try to stay at Charleston Place. It is centrally located, the Hotel is very festive during the Holidays, the rooms are spacious, the Thoroughbred and Market at Meeting are great bars, and there is a parking garage conveniently located on the property. While there are many first rate places to stay in CHS, it is tough to match this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlingame Ca

Gracious Elegance

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This is our 3rd stay at this hotel and every year it has been perfect. We come to visit our daughter in the Navy and this hotel hs become one of special memories for us. Love the Christmas spirit and decor, the massive train set and village display beneath the mist spectacular chandelier, the room is exquisite, restaurant is just perfect. Shopping is wonderful right inside the hotel. Love the parking garage, the location could not be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in the heart of historic district.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Refurbished rooms & fabulous food & drinks. Too hot to be cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Charleston Place Hotel - Charleston, SC

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Cons: I lost my hearing aides in my room. I found it a bit difficult to find out who to call and to get them to be more pro-active in searching in the room.
Staff is very well trained, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Our room was well equipped and appointed, and comfortable. The hotel's location is just right for exploring the historic district and the newly developing areas north of Calhoun St. As always, the decorations in the main entrance area as Christmas approaches are handsome, cheerful and attractive.