Ratings based on 1,192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter Weekend

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great hotel in center of charleston. Hotel has charm and character with all.modern conveniences. Super comfortable beds. Everything you want to do is walking distance. Clean and well maintaned. Excellent spa services, even though a little overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head

Right the heart fVharleston!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We shopped, visited histoicmansnand plantation, and are at some fine restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the Netherlands

a "One of a Kind" Experience

Posted Jan 16, 2016
By far the best hotel we have ever stayed at, and in a wonderful town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Birthday Weekend for the Girls

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Location, inside shopping, wonderful rooms and an outstanding bar in the lobby.
Location: City Market, carriage rides, great restaurants and lots of antiques and history.
Three of my friends and I spent a wonderful week end in Charleston at the Belmond Charleston Place Hotel. My husband and I had been there previously and loved the hotel and location. Everything we could have hoped for with great staff, excellent rooms and courteous helpful staff. It was such a good experience I have asked my husband to take me there for Valentines. Happy to say we are booked and looking forward to the Belmond experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with the perfect location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to King Street for shopping and the City Market with an unbelievable choices of restaurants. Hotel is in the center of the historic district
This hotel is absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. I was disappointed that the pool was closed as it was one of the reasons I choose this hotel. However the location was perfect, very close to shopping, dining and walking distance to many tourist attractions. This hotel made our trip to Charleston wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Charleston.

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Beautiful hotel with excellent service in the heart of the city. Because of the great location we were able to walk everywhere in the city. If you are flying in to Charleston a rental car is unnecessary. It is a walkable city with transportation very available. The hotel staff was very accommodating and set us up with all of our tours. The bus picks you up right outside of the hotel. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We did not use the amenities like the pool and spa but the pool is beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel. It's close to the market and stores.

Posted Jan 9, 2016
The hotel has jazz every night which I enjoyed. It's next to the market and other retail stores if you like to shop. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Old world elegance with modern charm

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: renovation made it like new. Very upscale. Staff was very accommodating.
Location: Charleston is a town for foodies, history buffs and for anyone wanting to experience Southern Charm. Check it out.
We stayed here over Christmas for two nights. It was our first time in Charleston and we really loved this property. We booked a room with two beds to accommodate our special needs son. We called a couple of times to ask about the room, access, local spots, etc. When we arrived, they upgraded us to a junior suite for the same price. It really made a difference in comfort and taking care of our son. He had his own "room" with a really comfortable pull out bed (made from memory foam, not springs) and a round dining table. We learned the hotel had recently been renovated and it was very comfortable, accommodating and upscale. The staff were excellent and responsive, especially the concierge team who were very helpful and patient. They have a wonderful Christmas display which was fun and made everyone happy. It is right in the middle of the historic high-end shopping district which made my wife happy. It is also connected on both ends to a small colonnade of stores, mostly high-end. It was walking distance to lots of good eating places, most recommended by hotel. I left my Roku remote in the room and the security/housekeeping were not very helpful about retrieving it. I called a couple of times but they say no one turned it in. This was my fault so hard to ding them on this minor negative experience. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an upper scale experience in Charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Elegant hotel close to shopping

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Great location
Location: Very close to shopping on King Street and walkable to other tourist locations.
This hotel is in a great location and has all the amenities of a luxury hotel. The staff is friendly and the rooms are a good size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Winter overnight as a family

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Loved the Christmas decor and the Christmas village in the lobby!