Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Lovely views and environment. Delicious food.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean and homely
The place is comfortable and homely. It is close to other scenic spots. The food that the owner cooked or home made is very yummy.
5 out of 5
by DAN from Florida

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
What a lovely B&B. The hosts were very gracious. The breakfast was delicious and Andre gave us wonderful tips about things to do along our route. There were lots of sandflies but there were screens on the windows so we could still enjoy the breeze. There was even a natural bug repellant in the bathroom. It was s very nice stay and we would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016
Thanks Dan - pleased you enjoyed your stay and made use of the screened windows in your bedroom. Sand fly numbers very depending on the time of day and weather/temperature.WE are pleased to be able to say there are alot fewer numbers here than in other parts of the South Island's West Coast. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Jan 9, 2016
The owners worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. Lodge is out of the way but in a very pretty and relaxing environment with good views. Breakfast was excellent. We did not eat dinner here but we were given a great recommendation to eat at a local restaurant near the seal colony. Bed was very good and room was very well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2016 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Peter - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Alison
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Truly Great Lodge

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Alison & Andre have set the lodge up to be almost unbeatable set in a great location with great views
Cons: Get rid of the sand flies, next time I will bring the appropriate cream, even these could not change the fantastic location
Location: Go caving to see the glow worms, visit local beaches and the great restaurants in Westport
We arrived here after staying in a lodge at Punakaiki which we rate very highly but this lodge is far better, the views are fantastic the caving, cycling on the beach and the beach swimming ( in the River Nile ) were second to non We stayed for two nights and ate diner in Westport at Denniston Dog Restaurant which had great food The breakfast at the lodge was also very good Andre arrange to take their bikes to the local beach and we spent the afternoon cycling and swimming
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thanks Simon! We look forward to seeing you again some day! Readers should note that all of our guest accommodation has screened windows so you need not be concerned about the native sandflies!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Julia from New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: The double outdoor baths with a view to die for!
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Immaculate; Spectacular location in one of NZs most scenic region. Really private.
1 out of 5
by Bill F. from Canada

Great and unique location

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
We had a great stay with our hosts helping us with what to see and what to do in the area. Beautiful lodge with all the amenities. Location and view outstanding.
5 out of 5
by Sue from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: The lovely hosts and wonderful view.
Location: Inspiring, A truly amazing view
Facilities: Home away from home, Very cosy; Value: Amazing, free massages!!!; Service: Go the extra mile, Yummy breakfast; Cleanliness: Spotless; Do yourself a favour and visit this B&B
5 out of 5
by andrew from New Zealand - Canterbury

Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Wotif
Location: Away from it all
Stay 2 nights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels