Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, Ca

Meh

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The staff was great. The lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful and just perfect. The housekeeping staff I met was just as friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately the hotel itself was subpar. It used to be a clarion hotel and it looks like there was a reason why they left. There was obviously some love with nice hard wood floors and stuff. But the decor was damaged, the doors were poorly repaired and toilets and fixtures were uneven.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florence, Sc

Roaches, Bedbugs, And Blood Stains

Posted May 30, 2017
I stayed here for a night because my husband and I couldn't find a nice hotel. So we came across this one in Charleston. The one thing I noticed when we arrived was a parking lot full of kids partying and loud music. We got to our room and the impression was nice, clean room until I came across blood stains on the bed sheets. I called the front desk and the lady said they were booked so they didn't have any more sheets, but it was just a stain that can't come off,but assured me the sheets were actually clean. Then minutes later a roach came down the wall, and a bed bug was on my pillow. THIS WAS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY. DESPITE THE NEWLY RENOVATED SIGN... you'de do better sleeping in your car for a night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Needs maintenance

Posted May 26, 2017
Very bad hotel, the owner need to give the rooms maintenance, the bed covers have a weird slidy fabric, the room is humid, the towels smell funny, I opened the bathroom door and I kept the knob in my hand, I cleaned some water from the floor and it ended up to become mud, not all the staff wears a uniform, very bad for what I paid, which is the price of an average hotel (approx $120/ni) and I ended up staying at a Motel 8 hotel category or worse ($60/ni)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Will never stay again

Posted May 20, 2017
Kitchen staff was very rude... bathroom door broke, trash behind night stand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Able to park your car there while on the cruise. The shuttle driver, Mr. Clarence, was excellent.
Cons: See above comments.
Hotel needs a complete remodel. Only one elevator worked. Right by train tracks with trains passing by all night blowing their whistle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Charleston Grand.... Not so grand at ALL!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
On March 31, 2017, I had a reservation for the night at the Charleston Grand Hotel. Upon arrival at the entrance of the parking lot my husband and I were greeted by a prostitute. We drove on into the parking lot where an individual was sitting on the curb adjacent to the pool obviously smoking something more than a cigarette. As the individual got up we witnessed it to be an employee. She re-entered the hotel through the pool area. I went to the front desk and shared my safety concerns with the staff. I was promptly told I would not be issued a refund. After much discussion with my husband and a staff member, Elanda, we went forward with the reservation. Upon entering the room we were greeted by bugs on the ceiling, mis-matching linens on the bed, a torn curtain, a hole in the wall halfway painted over, a door that would not shut with a faulty lock, a dirty bathroom and half painted room. We again called Elanda to try and resolve the problems when we were told she had customers. We were never offered an alternate room but told to have Expedia call her. We left the hotel and booked elsewhere as we were afraid for our safety and lack of cleanliness. As my husband turned in the keys we were given the managers card, Vivian was told to call her on Monday. I immediately called Expedia which called Elanda. Elanda told Expedia we were not due a refund due to us having stayed at the hotel 15 minutes. I called on Monday and spoke with Julia. Julia said Vi
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shelby nc

Poor management. Hoodlums loitering around.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Rooms smelled awful. Balcony door welded shut. A crime took place in the parking lot.
2 out of 5
by Carolyn

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff wasn't very friendly duing check-in. We were given a room that was supposed to be smoke free but wasn't. The hotel was also very warm. They moved us to another room that smelled slightly better. I would not recommend this's hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folly Beach, SC

Quick drive to beach and I could sleep all day!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Vikki (hopefully spelled that correctly) was amazing and hilarious. Made the stay a lot better. Felt safe and could sleep all day in those beds! Will definitely be my choice of hotel when I can't get beach front. ❤ just have to know what kind of pillows and mattress they use!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy area of town. Fight broke out and cops we

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: At least the AC worked and the bed was comfortable enough. TV worked and there was a little fridge without freezer that I didn't discover until the n
Cons: The floors in the room are not carpeted, which should make it easier to clean and eliminate allergies. They are either hard wood or imitation. BUT .
Location: The hotel has a pool and a small workout room, though I didn't get to use them, so I can't speak for how good they are...
I got there late and I wasn't sure I felt really safe. You know that something is off when you see that the police department has designated parking reserved for them! Inside, the facilities are a bit old and outdated. The doors to the rooms need painting. My room key stopped working by the next morning and I had to get another one. The shower head was not on tight and was spraying all over the ceiling tiles. If you stay here for the price and want something other than bad coffee and waffles, I would suggest to go to the nearest Chick Fil-A or IHOP. A fight broke out in the lobby in the morning while we were having breakfast and the cops were called. Hotel employees were scrambling to lock us all in the little cafeteria where "breakfast" was available. I was glad to be checking out soon.