Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO CIVIC CENTER

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: CLOSE TO MALL AND CIVIC CENTER
ROOM WAS CLEAN AND COMFY. SHOWER WAS GREAT. SHORT WALK TO THE CONCERT AT THE CIVIC CENTER
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Did not appreciate the $14 parking fee added to the bill without warning. That is outrageous! $5 maybe!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Town Center. Truly!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Across the street from a very nice shopping mall. Half-a-block from the Civic Center.
Cons: Nearby GAS station.
Location: Civic Center
Walking distance to the Civic Center. Expensive breakfast: $22+. Be aware of the parking garage fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I hope we have another opportunity to host a stay for you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Horrible Staff, VERY rude.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Terrible.
We arrived at the hotel with our bus which was approved to park in the parking lot. When we arrived the hotel was busy and the staff did not want to give us the time of day at all. They proceeded to tell us that we could not park the bus as "someone has already taken the reserved spot" and we were forced to find accommodation elsewhere. They refused to help and were SO RUDE. Never again will I stay in such a horrible place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Ramona, Hotel Management
Dear Isabella, Please accept my sincere apology for your experience with our hotel and team. It is our job and commitment to take great care of every guest and clearly we failed you. I would welcome the opportunity to speak directly with you to learn more your experience as I will share with the team to be better prepared for future opportunities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

disappointed

Posted Oct 31, 2016
You have to pay for parking, daily and you also have to pay for wifi unless you're in the lobby or a rewards member.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Ramona, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Please accept my sincere apology for your experience with our hotel. We are committed to take great care of every guest while offering value and affordability. Hope that when in the Charleston area in the future, you will consider staying at our hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clarksburg, WV

Great Hotel Close to the Mall and Civic Center

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. It has it's own parking garage and the hotel is very close to the mall and the civic center.
Cons: The bar should have served drinks in actual glasses instead of plastic cups. The drinks were very watered down and not worth the price.
Location: The hotel is close to the mall and the civic center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff, But No Ammenities

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The shower was easy to work (wherein many hotel showers take 30 minutes to figure out) and the room temperature was comfortable (day and night).
Cons: Please provide some form of breakfast. Toast. Fruit. SOMETHING. Maybe not a buffet; but a banana, maybe? It's not asking much; really, it isn't.
Location: We were in for the Garth Brooks concert at the Charleston Civic Center, a stone's throw away from the hotel. We enjoyed the 3-story mall, as well.
The friendly staff is why I'd return, but here's reasons why I wouldn't return: 1) NO breakfast. NONE. Not even toast and fruit. Not even cereal and milk. Nada. 2) No free WiFi in the room, unless you're a rewards member. You can go down stairs and sit in the lobby and use it for free. Guess that should count for something. But it doesn't. However, it's worth mentioning, you can ask to become a rewards member at no cost just to use the WiFi. 3) $15 to park! I understand this is common is some bigger cities, such as NY; but many WV hotels have parking included in the price of the hotel room. WV has just traditionally been more hospitable in this regard. Not the Marriott. *shrug* 4) Unless you want to pay $3.50 for water, be prepared to use tap water to make your coffee/tea in your room. 5) Don't forget your Q-tips and cotton balls. They're not included with the tiny shampoo, conditioner and body wash you'll find on the bathroom counter. Considering the cost of the room, I didn't pack mine because I assumed (shame on me) they'd be at the hotel. Now, on the bright side: 1) As I said, the staff were all fabulous -- from the front desk check-in folks to the restaurant hostess to the parking attendants. Friendly and beautiful. 2) And the shower! My word! The shower pressure was phenomenal, and I didn't have to spend 30 minutes trying to figure it out. 3) Location! The mall and civic center are directly across from the hotel. Perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Close to Action, Great Place to stay

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: Parking entrance was difficult to find. Room key required to enter and exit.
Location: Pies and Pints restaurant, Blacksheep Burritto, and Macy's
This hotel was very close to the action in Downtown Charleston, WV. One of the nicer hotels in the Marriott chain. Friendly staff, clean rooms and across the street from the mall!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from daniels wv

Nice place

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Cold pool. Not hot tub. It's close to the civic center and mall but not to good places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Clean hotel...bills you for everything

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Billing was had errors. Charged for internet services in error and was double charged for parking.