Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We felt that the hotel was great all around. There is quite a bit of construction going on in the area, but, it is an expanding metropolitan area. The construction noise began around 8/830 and lasted til around 6. But we weren't there to sit in our room undisturbed all day. Quick access to Folly Beach (20 mins with heavier beach traffic)...the highway on-ramp to Folly is only a few blocks away. Quick access to historic downtown. I think it took us maybe 10 minutes to get parked on King St. at 6 pm on a Thursday. Hotel staff were awesome and super accommodating. A big thank you to Danny and Andrea at the front desk. We really enjoyed our stay and will consider them a top option when returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review of your stay at the Charleston Marriott near downtown. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our location close to Folly Beach and downtown. It is also nice to hear that you liked the excellent service provided by our associates, especially Danny and Andrea. We will be sure to share your compliments with them which will motivate them to keep up the good work. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OLD FACILITY

Posted Apr 26, 2016
This is not a 4 store hotel. It is an old facility and corporate Marriot needs to invest into some improvements. There was mold in the bathroom, the carpet needs to be cleaned on a more regular basis and the lamp shades had fuzz on them. The furniture on the outside terrace is unraveling and needs to be updated. The staff was very accommodating and no complaints there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about our staff members. They will be pleased to know their efforts are appreciated. We agree with you in regards to needing a refresh. We have been concentrating on the renovation of our rooms and will be completing our public spaces this year. However, we are committed to providing clean and comfortable rooms and we did not deliver that to you. We will focus on this more as each guest deserves to arrive to a clean room. Thank you for sharing your comments and for being our guest. We invite you to come back and see our progress when you are in the Charleston area again. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to cruise port

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Closeness to port, available transportation, restaurants and service with a smile including free-wifi
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shuttle to restaurants abd car service on call and ready within minutes
Marriott Hotel was in a great location transportation easily available. We were given a room on the Concierge Level considered the Pent house Floor. Not only did we receive a room with a view but also a balcony. Also access to free breakfast a few doors down in the concierge dining area. The servers were excellent as was the wait staff the night before in the restaurant. We took a cruise in January letting a travel agent choose our location it was not a Marriott brand and was not comfortable and pyt a 2 week hold (for a pre-paid) room on the card I was going to use on the cruise. I believe in Marriott brands and will never stay at another "joe's" Hotel. Kudos to Expedia and Marriott!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate you chose to stay at the Charleston Marriott over the other choice of hotels in the area. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit, and that you loved our convenient location, transportation service, and your room. Thank you for sharing your satisfaction online, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager, Charleston Marriott
2 out of 5
by Nina from Woodstock, GA

Not worse the money

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
We expected a lot more from a Marriott Hotel chain. Room was not clean, bathroom and shower was filthy. They never got to clean our room on the first day of our stay. We left the room at 9:30 that morning and came back at 4:15 pm. The cleaning crew never touched the room. They were standing in the hall way telling jokes and laughing out loud. We've left one day earlier because for this kind of money like I said we expected a lot more. This was our last visit to this particular hotel. Not worse the money, looks and feel like Motel , noisy, dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review online. I am sorry you had some service and cleanliness issues with your room. I have shared your feedback with my Director of Housekeeping and staff, and we have taken actions to ensure we do not repeat these issues in the future. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with better service and consider staying with us again when you return to Charleston in the future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.B. Canada

Excellent Charleston Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Very pleased with our stay from the beginning to the end! One excellent amenity was the shuttle to Historic Charleston. So convenient!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful words about the Charleston Marriott. We are so glad that you loved your stay, and that the convenience of our shuttle service proved to be an added benefit to your stay. It is our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish, and we are very happy that we were able to just that for you. We enjoyed accommodating you, and we look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager, Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Convenient location with very good facilities,

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, pool, staff, rooftop bar.
Location: The hotel is in Central Charleston but we found it more practical with a small child to take the shuttle bus which drops you in Vendue Street.
There are several Marriott hotels in Charleston and we initially tried to check in at one of the others. Our hotel at 170 Lockwood Blvd was very good in particular for its facilities and the friendliness of staff. We were only in Charleston for two days so the shuttle bus into town was a bonus; we also enjoyed the pool and hot spa which allowed us to take advantage of the warm spring weather; the rooftop bar was also excellent, making decent cocktails with views over the city; finally the breakfasts were excellent- I recommend the $15 buffet which includes piles of fresh fruit, made to order omelettes, a wide selection of fried foods and healthier options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you chose to stay at the Charleston Marriott for your visit to Charleston. It was a pleasure to read that you were impressed with our staff and all our on-site facilities, especially the breakfast buffet we served. We are happy that you enjoyed your time on our property. We were happy to have you as our guest and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager, Charleston Marriott
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ic

Pretty bad

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Horrible breakfast, and dirty room, we were very unhappy. I will never go back there. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Iris, I am so sad to hear The Charleston Marriott did not live up to your expectations. We do take all guest reviews seriously and I am so sorry for the state of your room cleanliness upon check in. It appears we dropped the ball and I will address this with the Head of our Housekeeping Department to see where steps were missed so that this doesn't happen again. I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better on a future visit to the area. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Cierra from Columbia, SC

Overall great stay!

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was lovely! We especially loved the fireplace tables outside in the courtyard! The only issue we had was the air conditioner in our room had poor quality. We were only there for one night and it was extremely late, so there was no need for us to make a complaint about it. Would definitely recommend to family and friends!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall time on our property, and especially liked the fireplace tables in the courtyard. We would have appreciated to have given a chance to resolve your concern regarding the HVAC unit of your room to your satisfaction while you were here. Our rooms are checked on a regular basis by our Engineering team, so I will have them address this issue immediately. However, we apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager, Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
was here for a funeral.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at the Charleston Marriott while attending the funeral. We are sorry to hear about the demise of your loved one, however, we are glad we were able to accommodate you and that your stay with us was comfortable. Should your travels bring you back to our area anytime, we hope that you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers, General Manager, Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful. Parking is free, which is great when you're in Charleston, but somewhat cramped and a long way from your room. Bathroom is tiny; can't be on the commode and open the bathroom door at the same time. And we didn't get the room I paid for. Don't know if the problem is false advertising or a disdain for hotels.com users. I paid for a room with a balcony and didn't get it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Charleston Marriott near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. However, we are sorry for the issues you encountered with your bathroom and your reservations, and for the inconveniences it caused you. I will share your candid comments with my management and staff, so that we can improve our facilities and services in the future. We ensure you that we will provide you with a room of your choice on your next visit, so that we can make it up to you. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Patrick Rogers General Manager Charleston Marriott