Ratings based on 1,052 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Hospitals, However, Elevator Noise

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The hotel was full, however, they have made a room of the space directly adjacent to the elevator equipment on floor 2. One feels as though you are in the elevator all night, even with some tools to block sound. This should not be a room at all, hence my rating. In another room, I would have ranked this a 4/5 for value and cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The price and the breakfast. Walking distance to the conference hotel I had to attend.
Cons: A shuttle service, or do they have that?
Location: had fun in Historic Charleston
Good stay but I wish they had told me about the renovations that were going on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Remodeling hotel and put us in a room that wasn't finished. Had to switch rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lipstick on a pig

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Although the bed was nice and clean, the current remodel is very disappointing. It looks like they are spending a lot on the design which is nice, but they are doing a terrible job on the workmanship. There are paint marks everywhere and marks in the drywall which were never repaired prior to repainting. The pictures look nice, but when you look closer, it is just a poor remodel overlaying decades of use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convient to Downtown

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We took the free bus to get to the historic part of town every day. The stop is next door to the hotel. The hotel is still undergoing renovations but it was comfortable enough for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

close to downtown

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly
Cons: n/a
Location: close to downtown
Perfect for the night. Met all expectations. Great free breakfast and free parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by marie

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
it was under construction and one elevator was not working, the breakfast was terrible and there were people being really loud in the hallway from 2 am to 4 am and the front desk never came up after two phone calls and then they stopped picking up calls.
4 out of 5
by Carlton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

DIRTY SMELLY ROOM - GOOD LOCATION

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The only good thing about this place is the location and free breakfast. The room we had was in the second floor and smelly with dirty carpet abs totally outdated. Noisy air conditioner that just blew the nasty dust all around the room. My husband and I ended up buying a febreeze odor/allergen eliminator for how bad it was. We also had a few encounters with bugs in the bathroom during our stay. Fortunately we were really only in the room to sleep and get dressed for the day but my husband did end up getting sick a few days later when we were in a different hotel so I wouldn't be surpised if it originated in this room. On the bright side I did see contractors putting new carpet in some of the downstairs rooms .... but they will just result in dirty and smell as well.... tile is the way to go!