Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kc

work

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: staff and location
Cons: internet
Location: close to king st
the hotel is good except the internet which is comes and goes. close to our training.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back and stay the next time that you are visiting our lovely city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, NC

Very convenient location to Medical University

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The mattress was very comfortable.
Cons: Parking
Location: The location was very close to MUSC but too far to walk from downtown.
We were there visiting a relative at the hospital at MUSC. This was a one night stay. It was very conveniently located and within walking distance to the hospital. Parking was a challenge. If your vehicle is larger than a compact, take precautions. At the time of this review there was road construction next to the hotel which made things a little challenging but all in all it was a pleasant stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to provide you with the convenience of being close to the hospital. Parking does indeed present a challenge but we will be rectifying that issue in the coming months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville sc

Okay hotel. I wish the pool area was open later

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Please place a microwave in the complimentary breakfast area. If you needed to use a microwave you had to ask the staff to take it back to the kitchen
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We use to have one in that area but unfortunately due to some accidents we had to remove it but our kitchen staff would be more than happy to heat something up for the guest if they need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to almost everything

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The Staff was GREAT - they worked real hard to make sure we had a room that would fit all 4 of us when I mistakenly booked double beds for us. They went over and above any treatment I have ever gotten at the desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Charleston and hope that you decide to stay with us in the future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenience

Posted Aug 1, 2016
3-5 minute drive from downtown Charleston, free parking was a huge plus, breakfast was decent. Maid service was not great, room wasn't always cleaned. Toiletries were not replenished and coffee maker in lobby was broken and not fixed for 3 days. Overall not a bad place location wise and the price was reasonable. Staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for spending time with us while you were here in Charleston. We are sorry to hear that housekeeping was not up to your expectations but we will review that policy with our staff to make sure that doesn't happen in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buy peanuts, get monkeys

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Air conditioning too noisy, WiFi unusable, Free breakfast is horrible. Location is good, decent price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while you were with us but we are doing what we can for the next time that you do come back to see us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice, clean hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, clean rooms.
Cons: I think people should be told the rooms next to the elevator are loud and give them a choice to stay there or another room.
Location: Nice location if you have a car. Not much within walking distance.
I liked this hotel and would have given it a higher rating except we had the room by the elevator and the elevator control room. It was every loud every time the elevator moved. Luckily late at night it rarely moved; but it woke me up early in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are happy that you stayed with us and enjoyed your time. We do apologize about the room by the elevator and we are in the process of sound proofing those rooms as to not have that problem again. The city does offer a free trolley so that you dont have to use your vehicle, not sure if you were informed of that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pawleys Island, SC

Next time, spring for more money.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and professional, from the front desk to the maid who did up our room in the morning. The bed was also very comfortable.
Cons: There was a slight "off" odor that pervaded the hotel, maybe stale smoke or dampness. The woodwork on the room doors was needing a touch up.
Location: This place was out of the way and took a bit of walking to get to downtown; however there is a free trolley that stops in front of the bank next door.
This was definitely a budget hotel in every way. We booked it because everything in our price range was already taken during the 17-day Spoleto Festival in Charleston. Next time I will spend the dough for more palatial surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conway, SC

Nice hotel right across the VA

Posted May 15, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful. The room and bath was good in size. Breakfast was plenty and good. Parking was tight with a big car but manageable. The hotel has an overflow parking lot that is available only until the morning hours but the hotel offers to move your car in the morning so you don't have to get up early, for free. What a great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Melinda Houston, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction?

Posted May 6, 2016
Their was some sort of leak in the main lobby with all the ceiling tiles out and big fans blowing around. I couldnt hear the desk clerk and the other one was playing on her personal phone while it was charging. The room was clean and comfortable and the pool looked nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by MH, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, M.Houston Asst. General Manager