Ratings based on 962 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ist halt eine Hotelkette

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Alles wie erwartet. Sehr gute Matratze. Relativ neue Zimmerausstattung, amerkanisches Frühstück. Freies Parken. Nicht .ganz fußläufig zum Historical District (rund 2 km)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Wir schätzen Sie bei uns bleiben und froh, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns genossen und hoffen, dass Sie das nächste Mal in Charleston sind, dass Sie wieder kommen bei uns zu bleiben.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, NC

Very convenient location to Medical University

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The mattress was very comfortable.
Cons: Parking
Location: The location was very close to MUSC but too far to walk from downtown.
We were there visiting a relative at the hospital at MUSC. This was a one night stay. It was very conveniently located and within walking distance to the hospital. Parking was a challenge. If your vehicle is larger than a compact, take precautions. At the time of this review there was road construction next to the hotel which made things a little challenging but all in all it was a pleasant stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to provide you with the convenience of being close to the hospital. Parking does indeed present a challenge but we will be rectifying that issue in the coming months.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sp

hotel limpo e bom cafe da manha

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: limpeza
Location: vinhança com muitos hospitais, bem simples e em obras
hotel muito limpo , bom cafe da manha e bom atendimento, é muito usado por parente de doentes que estão no hospital em frente
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Estamos felizes em saber que você gostou o seu tempo com a gente e espero que em suas futuras visitas que você vir e ficar com a gente.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville sc

Okay hotel. I wish the pool area was open later

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Please place a microwave in the complimentary breakfast area. If you needed to use a microwave you had to ask the staff to take it back to the kitchen
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We use to have one in that area but unfortunately due to some accidents we had to remove it but our kitchen staff would be more than happy to heat something up for the guest if they need.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to almost everything

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The Staff was GREAT - they worked real hard to make sure we had a room that would fit all 4 of us when I mistakenly booked double beds for us. They went over and above any treatment I have ever gotten at the desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Charleston and hope that you decide to stay with us in the future
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenience

Posted Aug 1, 2016
3-5 minute drive from downtown Charleston, free parking was a huge plus, breakfast was decent. Maid service was not great, room wasn't always cleaned. Toiletries were not replenished and coffee maker in lobby was broken and not fixed for 3 days. Overall not a bad place location wise and the price was reasonable. Staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for spending time with us while you were here in Charleston. We are sorry to hear that housekeeping was not up to your expectations but we will review that policy with our staff to make sure that doesn't happen in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buy peanuts, get monkeys

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Air conditioning too noisy, WiFi unusable, Free breakfast is horrible. Location is good, decent price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while you were with us but we are doing what we can for the next time that you do come back to see us.
5 out of 5
by Dean from Virginia

Can't say much....

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
When we arrived - all good, kinda old feel to it in the lobby - parking wasn't great. The room we were assigned to had a horrible smell that you could tell they were trying to hide the smell - no way could we sleep there. They switched our room for us - much better. Loved the new room, updated, couldn't make coffee for the glass pitcher was missing...otherwise nice. The wifi didn't work as well as other hotels we had been staying in during our travels - we ended up having to use my hotspot. I think we overpaid our stay - that place really isn't worth the over $250 we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Melinda, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience here at the hotel. We are happy that you are pleased with the accommodations that we provided. Yes, the parking is an issue and unfortunately, that is a citywide issue as well but we are in the process of doing something about it and the wifi is also being updated as well. We are sorry to hear that price was not to your liking but it is comparable to other hotels of our kind on the peninsula.
3 out of 5
by Jaime

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Keely from Memphis, TN

Centrally located inexpensive stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was a last minute trip for me and my mom. For the hotel to be located on the peninsula and minutes from downtown, the price was great! The staff was friendly and helpful. There were just a couple of things that were subpar. The parking lot was small for such a large hotel. Also, the wifi was very slow. Everything else was top-notch, including the breakfast. I will stay here next time I come to Charleston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are actively working on the parking which should be done in the near future so you will not have to worry about that going forward.