Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel close to downtown as well as beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Our stay at the Courtyard Marriott was good. We got in late and check in was no problem. The staff were courteous but not overly friendly. The room was nice, nothing fancy. The grounds were pretty and the pool was clean with plenty of towels available. The Bistro did not have many choices and the hours of operation were not ideal for a family on-the-go. Parking was no issue. The hotel is conveniently located to both downtown (10-15 mins) as well as beaches (10-15 mins to Isle of Palms). Our one major issue was with housekeeping. While our room was clean upon arrival, on two separate occasions, the room was not made up at all. I ended up making our beds and my husband took the garbage out and asked for extra towels. Another day, housekeeping came, took the dirty towels, didn't leave any clean ones and didn't make the beds. Clearly, this is not the end of the world, but a bit annoying as it is certainly a service that is expected. Overall, we would recommend the hotel and would stay here again, but perhaps be a little more persistent about housekeeping services.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very loud room

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Hotel was beautiful, clean and staff were friendly. Food at restaurant was delicious. Only complaint was the noise level in the room. The door next to our room slammed constantly.....all night long and in the room above we could hear the occupants walking......all night long.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures look way better than it actually is

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The lobby looked nice.
The pictures you see online make the place look freshly renovated, and while that may be true of the lobby, the rooms old, dark and disappointing. If you want spend your time in the lobby, you'll love it, they did a great job in the lobby. Apparently the rooms are phase 2 or 3 on the renovation list. Our shower leaked, our a/c unit smelled like burning hair one day, and the refrigerator didn't get colder than room temperature despite calling the front desk who said they would send someone to fix it. The staff at the front desk were nice, however the housekeepers were unpleasant. The one day that we decided to use the pool, my wife was sternly told by a housekeeper in the hall to put a towel around her waste on the way down to the pool. My wife continued to walk because she didn't have a towel, as they're down by the pool, the housekeeper yelled "did you hear me". Unbelievable, this hotel isn't the Ritz Carlton lady.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Perfect!

Posted May 27, 2017
Such a good experience. We checked in at midnight and had no problems. The room is soo clean and the bed is a dream.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel, close to Charleston.

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotel was very nice, and it was close to Charleston and the Naval Training Center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Nice hotel, convenient to port.

Posted May 2, 2017
Arrived at room everything was ready and available. Room and bathroom was clean. I would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. Thank you for everything! 😊
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Great for families

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in Mt Pleasant, friends who came to visit us and swim at the pool were super impressed by how nice the hotel was. Seems new/recently updated.
4 out of 5
by Janet

Nice and clean, everything we had hoped for

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice hotel, well kept and very clean. We enjoyed the room and used the whirlpool outside. This was our first visit to Charleston, and we decided we found the perfect place to stay for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean an so convenient to downtown Charleston

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is very nice and clean and presentable. It also smells like a spa. So good I went to the front desk to find out what it was. At check in the staff was just okay. Didn't act like they cared one way or the other that we were there. Ordering food from the little cafe was weird too. Standing there looking at the menu we were told we could look at the menu in our room. We felt dismissed. Looked everywhere in the room for a menu but to no avail. My husband went to the front desk and they had to make a copy of their copy. Too many steps that include telling the front desk and then they call you when it's ready and you go get it. My husband went down the next morning for coffee (along with 9 other people) and was told they closed for breakfast at 9:30. One gentlemen said, "we're on vacation, we don't want to get up early." Neither did we. If you don't care about bellmen or room service this is the hotel for you. The beds were very comfy and the water pressure of the shower was outstanding. A small microwave in the room would be nice and some creamer other than powdered too.