Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

our room was not ready.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We had a reservation, went to check in at 6:00 and they kept giving us the run around. Room was never ready even though we arrived 3hrs after 3:00 Check in. No room available even with reservation which I booked online Expedia. Very disappointed. Luckily another hotel was able to accommodate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our team so that we can take the proper steps so this does not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve. Mark Thomas General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Will be nice once construction is finished

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Our room was nice and very big. Very clean. The hotel is in the middle of renovating the lobby and bistro area. I felt that is something that should be mentioned when booking. Also, we were staying for one night and the kids were really looking forward to using the pool and hot tub. Hot tub was broken and roped off(also something that should be mentioned at booking) and the pool was a freezing and had a weird green tint to it. For $500 I would definitely have stayed elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, thank you for your valuable feedback. While I am glad you liked your room, I am sorry to know about your disappointment with the pool and for the inconvenience caused with our ongoing lobby renovations. I appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will help us better serve our future guests. I hope the issues you identified will not detract you from choosing us again, as we want you and your family to enjoy our refreshed facilities. Mark Thomas, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected problems

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Hotel was under construction renovations resulting in the following: 1) Hotel Bistro was closed for renovations therefore no dining facilities in a hotel with a location with no restaurants in walking distance. 2)no ice machine on our floor because the room for the ice machine was being renovated. 3)Hotel advertised an outdoor hot tub but it was out of order throughout our entire stay On our 3rd day there, we never received house keeping services despite being out of the room between 11:00 AM to 5:00 .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the housekeeping issue you encountered and for the inconvenience caused due to our construction efforts. We are excited about the final result and hope that you will have the opportunity to enjoy our new facilities at a later date. Mark Thomas, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Beautiful hotel with awesome location and views.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The views and the spacious rooms. Great location with easy access to get to historic Charleston.
Cons: The expense of the shuttle service. Maybe add some items to the breakfast.
Location: Great location with easy access to everything around but just far enough out so that it was quiet and not packed with people.
We had a great experience except for not being told the lobby was under renovation. The shuttle service was a little expensive and a little slow. Uber was $7.00 for the 4 of us to get back from historic downtown and we had paid $24. for the shuttle service. Shuttle driver was helpful and friendly. The older lady working front desk was rude and seemed to not know what she was doing. The bartender and younger guy working front desk were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall time with us and that our convenient location and your comfortable room left you with a good impression. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations and will use your feedback as a training tool to improve our performance. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mark Thomas, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right at the harbor:)

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location and view. 10 minutes to downtown.
I was very happy to see how we were right on the harbor. The hotel is under renovations so it was a make shift check in area and the breakfast was basic cereal and bagels and coffee. I just wish it would have been cheaper since it was under renovations but otherwise great!! You will love the upgrades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are glad you liked our renovated facilities and especially, the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Mark Thomas, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, MA

Great hotel despite remodeling in process

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Booked last minute for part of my trip to Charleston to visit family. I cringed when I saw the major remodeling in process in the lobby which was quickly dispelled by Dominique as she checked me in. The hallways were dusty but the room was immaculate. Pool is not heated, hot tub was great. My GPS did not accept the address but it was in the drop down list for lodging. Easy to get anywhere in the area from this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Cyndi, I am so pleased to read about your visit at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you loved almost all the aspects of your trip, especially our location. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, and we hope to see you back soon. Mark Thomas, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We strive daily to please our guests and your feedback tells us we are meeting those goals. Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect rating. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Mark Thomas, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

convenient to relatives

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: decor
Cons: see above
Location: Relatives on James Island
They Need to clean black mold off bath tub to floor interface. One elevator out of action thus longer waiting times. Bacon at breakfast greasy. Eggs good. Poor choices for breakfast roll. Nice shower. Soap miniscule and too small for hand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent comments. Although our location was perfect for your needs, please accept my sincere apology that we let you down in regard to cleanliness and our breakfast choices. We pride ourselves on service excellence so it is disappointing that we fell short of delivering the service that you have come to expect from our brand. I have taken specific notes from your feedback and will discuss these issues with my management team to learn from and make the appropriate changes. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mark Thomas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Comfortable Rooms close to Historic Charleston

Posted Dec 25, 2016
I was pleased about to location of the hotel. Expedia confirmation email stated check-in time is at 3 pm but hotel told me it's 4 pm so I had to wait until 4. Staff was friendly but I wish communication was better. I found out there is a complementary breakfast at one of the meeting rooms when I was walking to front desk for check out, I had to ask about it. Hotel is under renovation now there's no restaurant or dining area. Also there's a shuttle to downtown you also have to ask about details.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront! We are pleased you had an overall pleasant stay and loved our convenient location close to the downtown and all the places where you wanted to go. However, I am sorry we missed communicating well and have noted your feedback. Comments such as yours help us enhancing our facilities and services. Thank you again, and we hope to have many more opportunities to welcome you back to our hotel! Mark Thomas, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and to assist you in any way, so we are glad we accomplished this during your stay. We appreciate your kind ratings. Please come back and see us again soon. Mark Thomas, General Manager