Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
The only good thing about this hotel is the fishing. The pool was green and closed our whole time there. The hotel is run down and in need of renovations. We will never stay here again and wouldn't suggest this hotel for anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2015
We first thank you for your candor, as these reviews give us the opportunity to train, work on or change the items our guests feel are incorrect. Yes sadly our pool was closed for about five days after a horrible storm and the rain and debris caused discoloration, we felt and needed to close the pool until all was clear and inspected prior to reopening. It is open now and beautiful. The hotel itself is undergoing renovations and its a great place to stay. We hope that you will change your mind and personally contact me so that you may come and experience the changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Good location bad experience

Posted Jul 12, 2015
I have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it, however this trip was not good. The pool was shut down by the department of health. When we checked in the first room we were put in the battery on the key lock was dead so we were not able to get in or out of the room. We were then moved two doors down to a dirty room. When I went up front to let management know, I was told it was because it wasn't 3:00 yet and the rooms were not all cleaned (it was 2:45). After waiting 30 minutes we were told the room was ready. The toilet paper holder was broken, there was hair in the shower drain, and I find it very unlikely the floor had been vaccumed. The air did not work even though it read 65° it was cooler walking outside the next morning. When I checked out the following morning and informed them of the lack of air conditioning, I had the impression that she was annoyed with me. At breakfast (which is in the fairly small lobby) members of the "manager 's" family were there eating and talking iver the desk to her even though they had not spent the night there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Gm, Hotel Management
We are thankful for your feedback. We did in fact have an issue with the pool being closed for a few days due to a rain storm and debris off the Marsh but that has been corrected and is now reopened. I personally invite you too come back because the issues you seem to have dealt with are truly not want we want to experience. We do care for our guests. The family of the manager was in fact guests of the hotel and it was a ten year reunion for them due to a terminal illness with her mother. So please rest assured if you give us the opportunity we will make it up to you.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from SC

Good and bad but overall disappointing

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
The best part about this hotel is the site location. It is just on a creek which is very lovely. People there have a good time fishing and crabing. The location by itself is not too bad just 7 miles from downtown. However with the traffic it takes too much time to get there as well as 45 min to get to the beach. The overall condition of the hotel is so-so. You can see it is a very old hotel which needs lot of care and update. You can see they're doing some... I wasn't disappointed by the room. It has everything expected and it is pretty clean. About the service, I think it is not the best. People there are very kind but I think it is not enough professional. My room wasn't clean the second day (because I made the bed quickly she did nothing) so I had to ask for paper and towels which they didn't have so I had to wait the day after to get new towels. The day after she did clean the room and refilled everything. And finally about the breakfast : it was very disappointing. It is very small and all you have is a waffle maker, cereals and biskits. Coffee and juice. Really not enough to start a good day.
4 out of 5
by Andy from Alachua

Good value

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
I was hesitant about staying here just because it wasn't a well known chain, but it was in the vicinity that I needed to be. It is an older building, but the room was very clean, everything worked and it was very quiet. The hotel breakfast had a waffle maker, biscuits and gravy, cereal and some other items for a quick breakfast. I would say that it is a good value, and I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Easy access to highway and charleston

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: It was fine for what we needed. Good for parking.
Cons: More staff to clean rooms.
Location: Historic plantations to visit, 15 minutes drive to Charleston.
After initial poor start (booking in receptionist not very helpful) we found the rest of the staff quite ok. Our room was fine on arrival but for the next few days it was late evening before towels were changed, and waste bins were never emptied. We did have our bed made up on the third night. The breakfast was average but the breakfast room was very small and inadequate for the number of guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 4 nights; location: a short drive from downtown, nice to be near / on the water. Good breakfast. Front desk staff friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by Jodi from Florida

Charleston, we enjoyed you!

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful from the main office....met every need and answered every question.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy accomodations

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Pool and lobby area and the fact that your car was right out front and visible at all times.
Cons: FIX things that need fixing like the light fixture, a simple but necessary item and toilet seat. And ice machine.....maintenance goes a long way.
Location: Outside of Charleston, not anywhere good but close to fields we had to be at for a sports tournament.
The bathroom needs a new light fixture or at least secure the one that is in there instead of just letting the light bulb hand down from the ceiling. Also fix the toilet seat as it was really annoying in that it was not secured as well. Other than that, the actual room was adequate. But it was the clientele that stayed there that was sketchy. Guys yelling over the bannister at about 3am to one another down in the parking lot. And then again at about 5am as they were filling up their ice coolers getting ready for the day. A little common courtesy and respect would have been nice to the rest of us trying to get some sleep. we had the worst possible location for a room as it was at the top of the stairs and people coming and going was annoying. Also the upstairs ice machine broken. Overall look of the place trashy other than the pool which was fine and the lobby was actually nice looking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

a little too far from Charleston downtown.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Plantation shutters on windows really suited the vibe of Charleston. No restaurants nearby so we had to drive everywhere. Better choices for breakfast
Cons: Maybe just a few repairs.
Needed some repair work in bathroom. Lovely pool. Staff were friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aiken,SC

I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The Creek & dock.
Cons: Everything,ac didn't work,wasn't clean,needs updating!
Location: Location good.
Poor service,AC didn't work in my reserved room,room they moved us to was not as clean,had no microwave or fridge,wasn't clean & my daughter has bites all over her .....very bad experience!