Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knoxville, tn

Nice hotel, middle of historic Charleston.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Initial impression was not I was expecting. I reserved 2 rooms side by side. Called twice to make sure we got side by side rooms. When we checked in receptionist informed us the rooms were at opposite side of the hotel. She did not apologize or seem remorseful. She seemed bothered by the situation. Other than that everything was great. Rest of staff were friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Pete, Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. Let me start by apologizing and say that this level of service is not indicative of how we train and/or what we expect from our employees. I would love an opportunity to find more information out like when you checked in so I can pin point the person responsible. I will be discussing with the staff as a hold until then. We do hope to have another opportunity to prove to you that that type of behavior is more of the exception and not the way we do business here. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Great location

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This hotel is located in an area that is easy to walk to many sites to visit, restaurants, the market, upscale shopping. Easy access to green DASH line to get around. Walking is enjoyable since there are so many beautiful buildings, the waterfront, to stop and visit. Great history to learn about. Stay in the shade and uou will be just fine. We enjoy visiting this city and experiencing its flavor.
4 out of 5
by Guy from Boston

Perfectly nice...

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted to stay in the historic district, and the Doubletree was well situated. It has the charm of an old manor, and the staff was very pleasant. Definitely take advantage of the valet parking so you can come and go easily and without separate charges each time. My only real beef was the size of the bathroom, which was NYC small. In our commodious suite we had this little WC which you couldn't turn around in. What's up with that? Otherwise, nice accommodations priced accordingly.
5 out of 5
by CELESTE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by michael from Atlanta

So/so

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Every thing is fair about this hotel but the location and security. Amazing location in the heart of Charleston . The biggest negative security .... After midnight the front desk is often left unattended for 30 min at a time leaving anyone able to walk in off the street. I had an issue with a key at 2am the front desk attendant returned at 2:35am.... Ugh
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Michael from Atlanta, Thank you for bringing to my attention the problem you experienced with the front desk accessibility during the late hours of the night. Our Front desk is and should always be manned. Our overnight agents are not mandated to stand at the desk, but leaving the desk is absolutely unacceptable. I would love to get some additional information especially dates to complete my investigation . We hope to see you again and please know that this issue will be addressed.
4 out of 5
by James from Kalamazoo

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The best downtown location in Charleston!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for agreeing with other guest that boast that our location is the best in Downtown Charleston. We welcome you to stay with us again if you are ever in the Charleston area. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The front desk staff doesn't really want to be bothered, but the other staff were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the issue you had with our front desk. I will certainly bring this issue up with the Front Office Manager. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that our front desk staff can be just as accommodating at the other staff you came in contact with during your stay ! We look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Valet and front desk were disrespectful. Hotel lobby was gorgeous. Room was pretty small, barley had room to walk around in - but very centrally located and fine for the one night stay. Definitely not worth the price in terms of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I am very sorry your experience with the front desk staff and Valet staff was not to your satisfaction... we are known for our "Southern Hospitality" that you should have experienced from the moment you encounter our first employee. I will be sharing your review with the Managers of respective departments as this type of behavior is not at all acceptable by our standards. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the true embodiment of our "Southern Hospitality" . Best Wishes,