Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Great location

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This hotel is located in an area that is easy to walk to many sites to visit, restaurants, the market, upscale shopping. Easy access to green DASH line to get around. Walking is enjoyable since there are so many beautiful buildings, the waterfront, to stop and visit. Great history to learn about. Stay in the shade and uou will be just fine. We enjoy visiting this city and experiencing its flavor.
3 out of 5
by michael from Atlanta

So/so

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Every thing is fair about this hotel but the location and security. Amazing location in the heart of Charleston . The biggest negative security .... After midnight the front desk is often left unattended for 30 min at a time leaving anyone able to walk in off the street. I had an issue with a key at 2am the front desk attendant returned at 2:35am.... Ugh
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Michael from Atlanta, Thank you for bringing to my attention the problem you experienced with the front desk accessibility during the late hours of the night. Our Front desk is and should always be manned. Our overnight agents are not mandated to stand at the desk, but leaving the desk is absolutely unacceptable. I would love to get some additional information especially dates to complete my investigation . We hope to see you again and please know that this issue will be addressed.
4 out of 5
by James from Kalamazoo

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The best downtown location in Charleston!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for agreeing with other guest that boast that our location is the best in Downtown Charleston. We welcome you to stay with us again if you are ever in the Charleston area. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The front desk staff doesn't really want to be bothered, but the other staff were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the issue you had with our front desk. I will certainly bring this issue up with the Front Office Manager. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that our front desk staff can be just as accommodating at the other staff you came in contact with during your stay ! We look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Valet and front desk were disrespectful. Hotel lobby was gorgeous. Room was pretty small, barley had room to walk around in - but very centrally located and fine for the one night stay. Definitely not worth the price in terms of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I am very sorry your experience with the front desk staff and Valet staff was not to your satisfaction... we are known for our "Southern Hospitality" that you should have experienced from the moment you encounter our first employee. I will be sharing your review with the Managers of respective departments as this type of behavior is not at all acceptable by our standards. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the true embodiment of our "Southern Hospitality" . Best Wishes,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nighttime staff untrained to handle emergencies!

Posted Apr 4, 2016
A fire alarm went off at 4:00am! The alarm system instructed everyone to evacuate the hotel. The alarm continued to ring for approx. 15 minutes. Although there was no instructions from staff, people began to reenter the hotel. There was no clarification of the event. Neither fire department nor police were apparently notified because they never showed up. There was no all clear announcement over the PA system nor written description of the event for guests in the morning. Although breakfast was comped, no reason or announcement of why was given....just told by the waitress upon presentation of bill! Awful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Gerry, Thank you very much for your review. I can't express how sorry we are about the 4AM fire alarm, I know it's a bit late for an explanation as to what happened.... but, we had a gentleman pull the alarm and slip out of the side door. We were able to catch the incident on camera, but no identity. The situation, did bring to our attention the need for some additional training and that training has commence. We hope to regain your confidence and hope that you will stay with us again. Best wishes,
4 out of 5
by Heidi from Columbia

Just for the night

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was perfect for us....we just wanted to shop the market and surrounding area. The Market was literally half a block from the front door. I am in a wheelchair and was able to navigate around nicely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Heidi, Thank you so very much for your very gracious review of our hotel. We appreciate all the kinds words pertaining to our hotel's incredible location. We would love to invite you to stay with us again, perhaps for a lengthier stay next time you are in Charleston. Best Wishes,
4 out of 5
by sidney

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
The location is perfect. In the vicinity of everything you need for a weekend getaway!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Reggie, Hotel Management
Dear Sidney, Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We love that we were a part of your weekend memories In Charleston. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Charleston. Best Wishes,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of Charleston

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: convenient to get car which was parked in the basement.
Cons: could use a small fridge in room
Very convenient to the downtown Charleston. very close to the market area.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Florida

Family Stay in Charleston

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay right off of Market Street in Charleston. Everyone in hotel was very pleasant (and greeted with cookies at check-in). Room was clean and larger than expected, bathroom was very roomy considering the hotel's age. Only drawback was no free parking, had to utilize valet service which was $30/day; however knew that going in.