Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Darlene from Lake Ozark

Love Charleston

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Just four blocks from Bay Street, really nice courtyard at the hotel, fun to visit with other guests. Hotel was very clean, room had a B&B ambience, comfortable. Parking across street in garage, so extra costs. Our stay was good, loved the neighborhood, but felt it was over-priced. No grass in historic area, so definitely not pet-friendly.
3 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Snoqualmie

Pricey but Worth It

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
There are three or four restaurants on the same side of the street as the hotel, and a wine tasting venue as well. Parking is across the street ($20/day) as part of county office complex. We were in #31, at the street, and it was a little noisy when the garbage trucks come through at 0600; try to get to the rear. They were doing exterior painting, which was a little bit of a hassle if you were around during the day. Within a few blocks are shopping and tourist services; we didn't move the car for nearly 3 days. Big wardrobe held all our clothes, and the bathroom is generous sized. Bed and pillows were very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Not quite 4-star, room in front of a dump. construction noise, etc.
4 out of 5
by Cosimo from Wood-Ridge, NJ

Location Important

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Two night stay. Some construction at the time in the lot behind room 17 and the public parking center across the street. Recommend not to take room 17. Room 17 is in the corner of the lower level near the maintenance room of the elevator. The management gave me room 17 and I had to ask for another room. Request a room on an upper level. The location of the Elliott House was very convenient for Restaurants and sight seeing and walkable to the places of interest. Public parking is $20 a day across the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
very nice. convenient to downtown. avoid room 10 it is right on the road
4 out of 5
by Richard from Brick, NJ

GOOD STAY

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good stay. The room was nice except, We were on the first floor, (room 17) and could here ever foot step in the room above, and voices in the room next door. The property behind us was under construction and the heavy equipment started at 7Am. A lamp, on the night stand, shorted out with a flash,. Called for am repair but no one showed up. I unplugged the lamp for safety reasons. There were others in the room. The room service for the complementary breakfast was a treat although the menu was limited. The pool is tiny but clean, the court yard is quaint and the complementary wine and cheese each evening a 5pm was nice. This hotel is in the middle of the historic district, walking distance to great restaurants,and site seeing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
This place is run down. For $200+ a night, we expected more. Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. No curtains on the windows, only valances so if getting up with the sun is not your plan, too bad. Also, our room over looked the courtyard of a restaurant/bar so the noise and light from that was disturbing. The bed was hard as a rock. The shower curtain rod was rusted. The ceiling was cracked around the exhaust vent and where it met the walls. The light outside our room did not work so coming back at night was dark. No valet to help you with luggage, which really isn't a big deal but for $200+ a night it becomes a big deal. Hot water was sparse. The maids did a good job with providing clean towels and bedding but they are about the only saving grace of this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Surprised.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: We felt transported back to the historical times of the city. Loved the 4 poster bed...we felt like royalty!
Cons: A step up to get into bed would have been welcomed. It was tough getting in and out of the bed. An additional folding luggage rack.
Location: We were able to walk everywhere w/o difficulty. We were disappointment re the car situation, but not a fault of the hotel. Just the logistics.
Loved the personal service we were given along with the beautiful settings. Esp the courtyard!
4 out of 5
by Steven from Northport, NY

Quick stop in Charleston

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
We needed a one night stop going south, and Charleston fit the bill. Elliot house was clean and centrally located to everything in town. Parking garage across the street. We enjoyed the free wine and cheese in our courtyard and breakfast in room.We will definitely return to Elliott House whenever we're in Charleston.