Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great central location

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It is very central within walking distance of many of the attractions in Charleston. There are 3 highly rated restaurants literally within 50 yards.
Cons: Both the breakfast and cheese and wine offerings are basically lazy offerings and need improving to differentiate Elliot House from the opposition
Location: All of downtown Charleston from shopping to historic houses and restaurants are all within easy walking distance
We had a ground floor room which was a good size although the bathroom was a bit small. The courtyard feels a bit rundown for a B and B that is supposed to be towards the upper end of the market and could do with a bit of investment and some TLC. The breakfast which was delivered to either the room or courtyard was perfectly acceptable although a bit limited ( the egg option seemed a bit weird) The early evening cheese and wine was fine but was the same every night - it might have been nice to have had maybe a different wine and nibbles on different nights - and was a good opportunity to socialise with fellow guests. The reception staff were very helpful in making recommendations for things to see and do and for places to eat.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

Downtown Charleston

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Room ambiance was quaint. The shower hot and a generous size. A full length mirror was very helpful for dressing.
Cons: A parking garage was located across the street. Spaces were always available but you had to pay garage rates each time you used the car.
Location: Shopping, museums, City Market, Antiques, Restaurants
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful from the very start. It has a fabulous location on the corner of King and Queen streets. Everything in downtown Charleston is an easy walk. If you need to go further, you can take a bicycle taxi. Amazing restaurants are right next door and available for room service. A complimentary light breakfast can be delivered to your room, at a time that you choose. The coffee was hot each morning. Complimentary wine and cheese are served each evening in the courtyard. You might want to bring a swimsuit, for the jacuzzi looked so inviting. I was not able to take advantage but was told bicycles were also available for use.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton, ohio

Very nice Charleston type inn.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Excellent four day stay. Visited Chaeleston many times and had never stayed in town. Excellent location on Queen St. Very close to King. Everything is within an easy walk. Shopping and plenty of places to dine. Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fukuoka, Japan

Southern hospitality

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Support of friendly staff is superb. I really enjoyed a stay in Savanna. I would like to visit the city longer next time.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Charming hotel, brilliant location!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The staff, wine and cheese in the evenings and refreshments available during the day, the location.
Cons: Maybe some new air conditioning units.
Location: Right in between two wonderful restaurants, Husk and 82 Queen. Next to King Street shopping. A 15 minute walk to the water.
We loved our time in Charleston, and the Elliot House Inn was a lovely place to stay. The hotel is right in the middle of two fabulous restaurants, and close to the beautiful King Street shops. We walked everywhere! Our concierge, Eric, was absolutely amazing! He took time to print us out information sheets about local attractions and marked a map highlighting all of them. The wine and cheese hour was a bonus that we greatly enjoyed each evening. We also enjoyed the refreshing pink lemonade and iced tea left in the courtyard during the hot days. We had our 1 year old daughter with us, so our room was a little small, however had it just been my husband and I it would have been perfect. Our air conditioning unit was pretty loud as was the crashing glass when the restaurants emptied their recycling throughout the evening. However, the hotel itself was wonderful, a nice and friendly home away from home.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All the comforts of home and in a perfect location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT! Staff, room, amenities were all above and beyond what we expected. We will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maplewood, NJ

Quaint but lacking in comfort

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Very quaint but not comfortable. The bed was hard, the room was small, and the noise and construction on Queen street made it almost impossible to sleep-in.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love love love....

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Happy hour, bikes, well appointed and clean rooms. Darling courtyard....and did I forget location!! So perfectly located. Really a fabulous choice!!
Cons: The air conditioner in our room sounded like the fan was on the blink...it was loud for sleeping. But still loved this place!!!
Location: Husk is right next door....everything is very convenient.
We loved this place!!! Not only was this place very charming...but they also had a wine and cheese happy hour!! Very fun...and they had bikes that you could borrow if you were a guest. We got to see WAY more of Charleston this way!! We even took the bikes to dinner... The staff was very very professional and pleasant!!.. wonderful, clean rooms....my only complaint was the air conditioner in our room sounded like the motor was having issues...but in no means did it curtail this wonderful place from getting high remarks from me!!!! Seriously loved it!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McLean VA & Honolulu HI

False Advertisement

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing. I am not sure how it is categorized as a Bed and Breakfast.
Cons: Unless they can break down the walls and expand the rooms, nothing. Court yard needs to be kept up. Pool should be cleaned daily.
Location: Charleston is a nice small city. The carriage company should adopt a similar practice they have in Savannah to keep the horse poop smell minimal.
The Inn touts itself as a Bed and Breakfast (B&B). To be blunt, I can get what they offer at a Days Inn. In fact, the room was even smaller than a Days Inn. The bedroom and bathroom had zero room. The pictures on their website are very deceiving. We went by what Expedia people rated this place and either we got the worst room in the place or people’s standards for B&B are not the same. I don’t see how this can be considered a B&B or Inn. It is just a motel that serves you breakfast. We paid the same as we did for the Hamilton in Savannah GA and it was a 5 star B&B. To be fair, the place was clean but you don’t get the same service as you would in a traditional B&B.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The Terrace for having breakfast!
Cons: Upgraded quieter HVAC
Location: Wonderful location!!
Very nice experience. The only complaint out of lots of wonderfulness was that the HVAC was louder than we are used to.