Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a lovely hotel with helpful and personable staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
great staff, nice amenities, lovely antique furniture, reasonable bathrooms. could benefit from full length mirrors and a desk in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, Virginia

Lovely historic hotel in the historic area.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The interior courtyard was lovely. The breakfasts were wonderful, and I enjoyed the daily wine and cheese reception. I met very interesting people.
Cons: The mattress was quite firm, a bit too firm for me.
Location: Location is convenient to everything you would want to see and visit in historic Charleston. Great restaurants nearby.
Very nice experience. I would stay there again. The staff was pleasant and helpful. There was a good restaurant next door from which I could order room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful place to stay in Charleston

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Our stay at Elliott House Inn was wonderful! The staff was extremely attentive and helpful right from the start! The room and the courtyard were charming! Breakfast served to your room or the courtyard was delicious! A perfect start to the day! The evening wine and cheese in the courtyard was a great way to relax after a day in town! We will definitely stay there when we return to Charleston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford england

Very comfortable inn

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Very helpful staff; excellent location; breakfast trays were very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: It"s quaint. Our room was sizable and beautifully furnished. I loved the courtyard. Breakfast delivered to our room.
Location: Walking distance to historical places. Loved seeing the old homes and churches. we walked to the old city jail.
Really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful with restaurant suggestions, places of interest to see and conversation of daily weather, activities and directions. I would stay here again. Our travel was in January and gardens were pretty. I'm sure spring is gorgeous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
My only complaint is that it was really noisy outside our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great hotel in historic district

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: All the things I said above.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind really.
Location: This was already described in the above.
Spent a couple days in the historic district and this hotel definitely was well located and got us in the mood to embrace the city. A wine & cheese at 5 PM the day we arrived allowed us to meet some of the other couples which was nice. The location allowed us to walk to the water's edge and take in the scenic beauty of the city. The next day we walked all over the French Quarter and some beautiful scenic neighborhoods in Charleston. We could easily reach the Market as well as some nice restaurants. We really relaxed and felt at home. Excellent hotel and staff! Will definitely stay there again when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BNA

Great location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Interior
Location: Two great restaurants ;one on each side
Excellent location with convenient(pay for)parking; clean,friendly staff, but a bit spartan interiors. Comfortable bed and good price compared to other options. Not for high end customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Close to Charleston sights

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Clean room. Friendly staff. Very nice complimentary breakfast options delivered to our room. Daily wine and cheese reception in courtyard. Walking distance to sights and exceptional restaurants. Our room was next to street and we heard loud engine noises as early as 6:00am is only complaint. TV was SD where stations were HD so visually poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Central to everything.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pleasantly surprised by how close the hotel was to everything. It's half a block from King street, the main shopping street. Husk and Poogan's Porch, two places we had made reservations to eat and heard a lot about, were right next door to the hotel. They have a wine and cheese hour everyday from 5-6, and you can pick from one of 6 choices for a breakfast that they will deliver to your room or the courtyard (all complimentary). One caution is there is no elevator, so access to the 2-3 floors may be difficult for elderly or people with certain disabilities. The staff was very pleasant, allowing us to leave our bags there both before and after our stay was over. Very charming and a good deal.