Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mt Pleasant SC

Fantastic location for walking.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: The throw rugs in our room were not stationary. This could be a tripping hazzard.
Location: Perfect locatio for tourist activities. We loved 82 Queen next door.
The hotel is in the best spot downtown Charleston. Our room was below a work room for the staff, so we heard lots of activity until 11pm above us. It sounded like furniture was being moved accross the floor. I wondered if the staff had an accident in the work room! We loved the wine and cheese reception from 5-7 pm. That is a charming touch for guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in heart of charleston

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Great hotel in heart of downtown Charleston. Walking distance to King St, harbor, and historic district. Clean, comfortable room for 1 or 2. The rooms are small but comfortable. The staff is excellent. Breakfast in am arrives to your room or courtyard. Heated pool/spa as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Close to all attractions

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Charming B & B, captured the ambiance of Historic Charleston. Could easily walk to many great restaurants, shops and attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok. Good location.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Quaint facility in nice location. Whirlpool was pleasant but quarters were cramped and you're inundated by noises from neighboring restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
This was the worst hotel stay. The noise coming from the restaurant behind us kept us up all night. Then there were the people staying above us who had small children that were very noisy and we're jumping around. The walls are very thin and had a sleepless night. There were also roaches in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mission Viejo, CA

Quaint Hotel in The Middle of The Action

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Quaintness, location, staff.
Cons: Room was small, lacked some basic amenities. External noise level in the evening and early morning was annoying.
Location: History abounds, both revolutionary and Civil war periods. Great carriage tours and restaurants. USS Yorktown and Ft. Sumter.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is sandwiched between two of the finest and most popular restaurants in town so the noise in the evening was a bit much (we were in the very front of the hotel facing the street). The room was small but comfortable. To watch the tv you had to sit on the bed. Wish they would have had some amenities like a TV channel guide. The staff was very helpful, especially one young man who was really into history and provided us with a wealth of information. Also I wish they would have varied the complimentary breakfast menu a bit. The hotel is well situated and in walking distance of many of the historical attractions. I would recommend the hotel but be sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel away from the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad that we met and exceeded all of your expectations. History, restaurants, local shopping, are all just in few steps away. The staff is exceptional. We are fortunate to have Neal here with us, he is a former history teacher, and knows a lot of information about Charleston. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elliot house

Posted Nov 23, 2016
nice hotel, feels like Charleston, right in the heart of the city, can walk to a lot of experiences, uber to the rest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint, similar to a B&B.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Location: Good location, walking distance to everything you want to see.
This was a nice facility right in the historic district. It was, however, incredibly noisy due to garbage trucks and other trucks right under the room at 5 AM and again at 10 PM at night, every day! One truck, that may have had something to do with drainage ran for 15 minutes and sounded like a cruise ship was going past the room. Noisiest room we ever stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you mentioned that we were located near all the sights and sounds of Charleston. The room that these guests stayed in was room 10. Room 10 is our Traditional King Room. We try to make it clear through websites, phone conversations, and review sites, that all Traditional rooms are located near the front of the property. We are surrounded by three restaurants that do early morning pickups. The Traditional Rooms are priced lower than the Courtyard Rooms, because of their location. We hope that you will give us another try in the future. I would recommend booking a Courtyard Room, for your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

In the middle of historic area

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Location, charm and staff
Location: See the description above - centrally located to all Charleston has to offer.
Excellent stay. The evening wine and cheese social gave an opportunity to meet other guests. The included breakfast delivered to your room was a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly (especially Matthew) and helpful. It is an historic hotel (charm) with a beautiful courtyard. The location was central to whatever you want to do in Charleston; history, restaurants, shopping, city market and the waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Wow! We are tremendously impressed about the service and satisfaction, you had with the property. We are excited that you have so many fond memories of your time with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location - so so lodging

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We loved the location of this hotel, however, we were given a room right on the street & it was very noisy at night...a popular restaurant was right next door + a bar made you lots of nigh life...fine, if you are part of it, but not so fine if you are trying to sleep. Also, the rooms are quite small, although nicely furnished. Overall, for this price, I expected much, much more!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The location cannot be beat, we are centrally positioned next to most area attractions. All the rooms are smaller than typical hotel rooms, because it was built into a property that dates back to the 1860s. Older properties, are smaller than newer larger brand hotels. We are located next to some world-class restaurants that have bars, so there will be some noise. Noise ordinance goes into effect in Charleston, at eleven. The bar/restaurants on both sides of the property, close at either 11 PM or Midnight. We hope that you will give us a try, the next time you are in the area.