Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom was dirty and carpet was nasty.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The staff was very nice and efficient. We stayed on the mezzanine level and the room seemed to be a handicap room and the shower was old, outdated and felt dirty. The carpet was old and stained and felt dirty. My son plays at the Citadel and we wanted to stay downtown and we chose the Embassy Suites due to its location. I have stayed in Charleston at multiply hotels and this is the first hotel I was very disappointed in. I hope this isn't due to booking through Expedia. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

It's in the Historic District

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Guess that was what I was paying for. Very pricey room. This property is in need of major updating. It's in the original Citadel, so not much they can do about the floor plan, but that didn't make it charming. 2 elevator for entire hotel. Room was cramped and very poorly lit. Broken window, broken drapes. Very convenient location, lived the Farmer's market next door on Sat morning. The staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Friendly staff and close to everything

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the drinks and light refreshments in the evening. The room did smell a little musky and the furniture could use some updating. Wonderful location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte, nc

Great location, wonderful staff

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Overall our stay was great. Hotel staff was wonderful, from front desk to breakfast servers. Location is excellent, walk to everything. Architecture much more interesting than your standard chain hotel. That said, room was a little dark, but well equipped. But we're not staying very long in room anyway, just to sleep. Courtyard, pool and evening cocktails fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location. Great breakfast and social hour.

Posted May 3, 2016
Very enjoyable. Hotel is close to everything. Farmer's market right outside on Saturdays.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Many rooms have no windows

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Terrible stay, will never go back. 20 of their rooms have no windows and pet hotel staff they are often allocated to Expedia guests. "That is why you should book with us directly, and not through Expedia" they said. So disappointed as an Expedia gold+ guests that we are treated as second class customers. Expedia: please do something to correct that and at least mention the risk of having room without window. Felt so claustrophobic in there that we had to keep door room opened most of the time. Also very bad rotten smell downstairs by the elevators that no one seem to care about. It could be a beautiful place on historic building but some of the renovation they made just makes no sense. Remember: more than 20 rooms have no windows and they would not relocate us because they are sold out and we booked via Expedia. Don't go!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckeye State

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Its history, we marveled that we were staying in the old stables of the years gone by. The ease of touring about from the hotel was a gift.
Cons: A gift shop of more gift items. I guess that would be nice.
Location: While it is only a stone throw to great shopping. It maintains old city charm. Local restaurants, site seeing, and free transportation. It had it al
We both were pleased to find so many advantages to this wonderful hotel. Close to Historical Charleston sites, within walking distance. Found that this hotel must have search for only the kindest most helpful people to be part of their staff. We were treated like royalty from the moment we drove in, afforded so many amenities that we nearly expected them to walk with us thru town. The hotel while beautiful the staff is the treasure in Charleston. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Excellent location in Historic Charleston. Excellent front desk, concierge, and valet staff. Close to most of the great Charleston restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dated property in decent location

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Positives are location and having kitchenette. Rooms need a lot of work - very dark with little natural light, old dark furniture, window sills and grouting crumbling. Wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prosperity, SC

Awesome!

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Wonderful Location! Walking distance to everything!