Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Charm

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has an amazing amount of history and charm to it. The Embassy tradition of full breakfast is always a plus. The location was great a central to a lot of King Street establishments and other attractions. The rooms were decently appointed but cleaning and turn-down seemed to be average. The beds were not great.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Miamj

Hiden gem in Charleston

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Kind of a hidden gem in Charleston. The hotel was formally the original Citadel before it was moved outside the city of Charleston. That being said the outside appearance that of a fully functioning defensible structure. Don't let that discourage you as it amazingly beautiful inside, with its gigantic atrium and beautiful hardwood floors. The rooms are a little dated but there is only so much you can do with a structure so old so I feel that should be overlooked. Because if you don't then you will miss one of the coolest experience in an already amazing city.
2 out of 5
by kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by James R from Atlanta

Horrid Bed!

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Generally very nice staff. They should be ashamed to put a couple in such a tiny bed. It is more like a cot. The room would have easily handled a responsible sized bed. Shame on the management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location. Great breakfast and social hour.

Posted May 3, 2016
Very enjoyable. Hotel is close to everything. Farmer's market right outside on Saturdays.
4 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Many rooms have no windows

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Terrible stay, will never go back. 20 of their rooms have no windows and pet hotel staff they are often allocated to Expedia guests. "That is why you should book with us directly, and not through Expedia" they said. So disappointed as an Expedia gold+ guests that we are treated as second class customers. Expedia: please do something to correct that and at least mention the risk of having room without window. Felt so claustrophobic in there that we had to keep door room opened most of the time. Also very bad rotten smell downstairs by the elevators that no one seem to care about. It could be a beautiful place on historic building but some of the renovation they made just makes no sense. Remember: more than 20 rooms have no windows and they would not relocate us because they are sold out and we booked via Expedia. Don't go!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckeye State

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Its history, we marveled that we were staying in the old stables of the years gone by. The ease of touring about from the hotel was a gift.
Cons: A gift shop of more gift items. I guess that would be nice.
Location: While it is only a stone throw to great shopping. It maintains old city charm. Local restaurants, site seeing, and free transportation. It had it al
We both were pleased to find so many advantages to this wonderful hotel. Close to Historical Charleston sites, within walking distance. Found that this hotel must have search for only the kindest most helpful people to be part of their staff. We were treated like royalty from the moment we drove in, afforded so many amenities that we nearly expected them to walk with us thru town. The hotel while beautiful the staff is the treasure in Charleston. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Janice from Spring City

Birthday weekend

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone one very helpful and friendly. Room was dated.