Ratings based on 810 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Happy

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location great!
The cleaning staff, staff at the bar and in the service dining area were great. Very friendly and accommodating, as been every employee at every Embassy/Hilton we've stayed. Desk and management...not so much. We stay in Embassy Suites everywhere we travel. This was by far the worse experience with management. Very difficult time getting reservations and registration for small group. Mixed up names/final bill receipts. Other examples could be given. . Coffee pot in one room not working. Response was "We're full. We serve coffee in dining room". Every person in our party (12) agreed most of the staff behind the desk displayed the attitude of "you should be glad we let you stay here".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy with stay

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good location for walking to sights, shopping and dining. Good value for us to have the complimentary cocktail hour and made to order breakfast buffet. Only down side was the additional charge for parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best location to walk historic Charleston

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The location was just okay but a good walking distance to most attractions. The valet giving directions to the self parking structure was uninformed the main entrance was blocked by nearby construction. Obviously no communication of this ongoing situation by management. Parking was in the next block from the hotel, not a part of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: In old downtown so you can walk or take trolley (which was two blocks over) to get anywhere. Lotz of shopping and eating!!!!!
Loved location and quietness of where our room was located .....(on the mezz). Yes it is older hotel but I loved it. Plenty of room. Loved breakfast and having a happy hour was a nice extra touch. Hotel was old Citadel......interesting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New employee at hotel Mike H was the best!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Right off King St and close to everything
Room was clean comfortable and large. Everything in lobby was very clean including staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel stay was great except for the construction right outside of our window that started every morning at 7:15 a.m. with pounding, construction workers talking, and trucks backing up and beeping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the area. Very interesting and historical. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 20, 2016
So I reserved the King Suite - which according to Expedia had a deep soaking bathtub and king bed obviously. We got up to our room and it smelled mildewy and had stains on the floor. Full sized bed and regular bathroom. I called down to question, and they claimed on their end I reserved a regular room and requested a king if possible. I offered to bring down my confirmatiom email and was told they believed me, but there was nothing they could do as they were full. Well, this was the last night of an already hectic honeymoon and I started to cry. This particular staff was nice enough and said she would see what she could do. Somehow a king bed room became available. They comped our valet and brought us champagne, but still no tub. I did end up bringing down the confirmation and the manager was short when I tried to show her the pictures accompanied on expedia and said that's a different type of king suite. Well....it's what I paid for! Im posting what we got - versus what we reserved. Oh, and it's listed as a room with a view...our view was an alley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel conditions are tiref

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The hotel is tired and needs a major remodeling. The hotel staff was normal Food wasn't good. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxx