Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deborah from Connecticut

Love Charleston

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, a little further out than I would have liked, but for the price it was great. They offered a happy hour for two hours in the afternoon with drinks and snacks. The breakfast (included) was excellent. They had an outdoor pool and inviting patio where we enjoyed our breakfast. Parking was a little bit of and issue. They had valet or park yourself which we opted for. We should have done the valet. Overall a great place and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernard from Bluffton

RELAXING

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay! Room 208

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: 1) The location was the best overall compared to other hotels I've researched before booking our room. It's walking distance to the bars, shopping, and restaurants. We highly recommend Hyman's Seafood restaurant down the same street. We had the opportunity to sit at the table where Oprah and Sinbad sat. Also, on Saturday, they had an open market right outside the hotel in the huge square. There were food, festivities, music, and crafts for the entire family. 2) All the hotel staff were nice and gave top quality service. Our server, Ginger, in the breakfast hall even helped cover our breakfast platters with foil to prevent spilling and provided a tray, so we could eat our omelettes upstairs in our rooms. Also, the front desk provided us sewing kits, which we needed for our costumes on Halloween. 3) Happy hours were from 5:30-7:30PM and the hotel provided carrots, broccoli, chips and salsa, and hush puppies. We happily drank our free beers, margaritas, and other mixed drinks! 4) The visual aesthetics of the hotel was pleasing. It looks like a castle on the exterior. There were no windows in our rooms, but small gun peep holes for when the historic building was a military academy with an open courtyard. Cons: 1) The bathroom needs updating with the caulk and the water temperature was very sensitive whenever you turned the shower knob. It would be either extremely cold or extremely hot, and it was difficult to find a median. 2) We should've requested fluffier pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jeremy from Richmond, VA

Perfect

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel in a historic building with a perfect location for downtown Charleston. Walking distance to everything. Staff extremely polite and helpful, and extremely comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Alecia from Greenville

Love the Historic Embassy Suites Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent love the happy hour and delux breakfast. We had a leak from air vent and hotel took care of it at once. Rate was reasonable location can' be beat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Looking Forward To The Update

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
It was almost 15 years ago that I first stayed at the hotel. I was disappointed in the furniture in the room and the overall look of the room. It needed an update. The cost per night seemed high for the room's condition. A few permanent stains were visible on the bathtub and tile. Our room's view was facing a wall near the street. I asked the desk if room 231 was a typical suite and I was told it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel for Charleston visit!

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Very convenient Charleston location; exceptionally friendly and helpful staff; very nice and comfortable room. We love having the "suite style" room.
Location: The Embassy Suites location is convenient to access all Charleston activities
The Embassy Suites provided us with a wonderful stay in Charleston. For us, it was perfect in every way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels