Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 20, 2016
So I reserved the King Suite - which according to Expedia had a deep soaking bathtub and king bed obviously. We got up to our room and it smelled mildewy and had stains on the floor. Full sized bed and regular bathroom. I called down to question, and they claimed on their end I reserved a regular room and requested a king if possible. I offered to bring down my confirmatiom email and was told they believed me, but there was nothing they could do as they were full. Well, this was the last night of an already hectic honeymoon and I started to cry. This particular staff was nice enough and said she would see what she could do. Somehow a king bed room became available. They comped our valet and brought us champagne, but still no tub. I did end up bringing down the confirmation and the manager was short when I tried to show her the pictures accompanied on expedia and said that's a different type of king suite. Well....it's what I paid for! Im posting what we got - versus what we reserved. Oh, and it's listed as a room with a view...our view was an alley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel conditions are tiref

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The hotel is tired and needs a major remodeling. The hotel staff was normal Food wasn't good. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location; outstanding staff.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
This is a great location with the spaciousness and convenience of a typical Embassy Suites. What sets it apart is the staff, especially the breakfast room staff who outdo themselves to be hospitable and efficiently turn over the hundreds of guests in the dining room each morning. They swiftly replenish juice and coffee, whisk away dishes the moment you are through and all with friendly greetings and welcoming smiles! Great southern hospitality in a beautiful town!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom was dirty and carpet was nasty.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The staff was very nice and efficient. We stayed on the mezzanine level and the room seemed to be a handicap room and the shower was old, outdated and felt dirty. The carpet was old and stained and felt dirty. My son plays at the Citadel and we wanted to stay downtown and we chose the Embassy Suites due to its location. I have stayed in Charleston at multiply hotels and this is the first hotel I was very disappointed in. I hope this isn't due to booking through Expedia. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

It's in the Historic District

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Guess that was what I was paying for. Very pricey room. This property is in need of major updating. It's in the original Citadel, so not much they can do about the floor plan, but that didn't make it charming. 2 elevator for entire hotel. Room was cramped and very poorly lit. Broken window, broken drapes. Very convenient location, lived the Farmer's market next door on Sat morning. The staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Friendly staff and close to everything

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the drinks and light refreshments in the evening. The room did smell a little musky and the furniture could use some updating. Wonderful location!
5 out of 5
by Mindy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Embassy Suites - Good Location in Charleston

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location, happy hour, and breakfast
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms. The cleaning of the rooms.
Location: Great location to tour Charleston
Overall, the hotel is decent and is in a really good location to tour Historic Charleston. The hotel staff were friendly and the daily happy hour and breakfast were really nice. On the outside, the hotel is really quite interesting and impressive. The bad part of the hotel was the servicing of our room. We stayed for 4 nights and our room was only cleaned once. After two nights in the hotel, we had to beg the employees at the front desk to have someone clean our room. Not only did we have to ask once, but we had to ask a second time for our room to be cleaned. In addition, upon arrival, we did not have any shower towels, and we had to go in search for some. Definitely not what we were expecting from an Embassy Suites Hotel. That was disappointing. The other disppointing part was the gym. The hotel is decribed to have a gym, but it was just a small room with an Ellyptical machine and a treadmill. I would not really describe this as a gym.
5 out of 5
by michael from Cambridge springs

Downtown fun

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel close to everything
3 out of 5
by Shannon

Needs a major renovation!

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had to leave early due to family emergency and Hotels.com called to hotel to help us out with no penalty. Thank goodness, because we were dreading staying here for 7 nights. The lobby and staff were the best assets of this hotel. Our room was sorely lacking. I'll add a few pics of the condition of the bathroom without going into too much detail. The bedroom had one wall that was brick...but the adjacent wall that butted up against it was not insulated very well. We heard the entire conversations and noises from the room next to us. I sure know the wife was mad because Manny was snoring (yelled his name 7 times at 2am)! Earlier, she was using a blow dryer and I'd have sworn she was right next to me. The room above us sounded like kids or maybe cattle on a stampede. I personally would say...seek other choices. This one needs a major overhaul. Rest of the room was dark and dingy! But I do thank the staff for letting us leave without having to forfeit $ as our daughter was having our new grandchild!