Ratings based on 810 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for historic Charleston

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location and exceptional staff
Location: Perfectly located and within walking distance to the entire historic district. Though we "ubered" to a few restaurants, we did need the rental car.
The room was much bigger than expected and bathroom was even bigger. Hotel was a little "old" in places but very clean. Loved the free breakfasts and happy hour. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful especially Francis at the front desk as well as Tia. Francis, in particular, seemed to really like working there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but beware

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Staff is excellent but beware of the incadental hold they don't tell you about on your credit card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Good location, spacious room

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel rooms could be updated as far as carpeting, tile and such. While clean, they were a bit worn. However the rooms are spacious, the staff friendly and the location great. The price was high for the quality of the hotel, but it did seem like many hotels were booked during our time, so that may have been cause of higher rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Old and needs to be updated.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Our room had no windows! The furniture and carpet was very worn. Not a 4 star in the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westminster, MD

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Convenience and pleasant, first rate staff.
Easy walking distance to shopping on King Street and to the City Market and Waterfront Park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent Location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, Location!
Cons: Better security
Situated right in the heart of everything you may like to see, this hotel does need some updating, it was very clean and evening cocktail reception was an added bonus, although typical of all Embassy Suites. Unfortunately, we had a rather unsettling experience with one of the other guests that could have/should have been handled better by the staff. Apparently there is not 24 hour security at this hotel. We asked the front desk manager to call the police for a guest that was being very aggressive toward his partner in a public area. When we intervened, he became very threatening towards us. The staff member did not call police right away and his behavior escalated. We went back to our room and found out the next morning that police were eventually called. I'm disappointed at the way this was handled and cast a pall over an otherwise pleasant weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very attentive staff in a wonderful city. We stay here each time we visit. The staff is very welcoming and treat us like family from check in to happy hour to breakfast. Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island

Perfect hotel in downtown Charleston

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Hotel was perfect for our day trip to Charleston. Staff was friendly, room was huge, and clean. Happy Hour is a great touch. The bed was so comfortable- best night sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Great location- we couldn't ask for more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Nice hotel with great breakfast.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
My only complaint would be that the pull out bed was awful! The second night I slept on the couch without pulling it out because that was much better than the mattress in the couch! The bed in the adjoining room was fine and the breakfast was great! Not just the continental stuff must hotels serve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
The history of the hotel was interesting and the people were very nice but the hotel was in a major need of an update and dirty! Not up to our standards for an Embassey suites