Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great for a family weekend in Charleston

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Embassy Suites has the right formula for a family getaway - enough space so that we're not claustrophobic and our 2 children don't have to sleep in the same bed, a quality breakfast included in the nightly rate, and a relaxing manager's reception for the parents at the end of the day. This Embassy is in an historic building (the old Citadel), which makes it distinctive and a good conversation topic. The location is right on Marion Square, which puts the chain shops of lower King Street and the independent shops/restaurants of upper King St both within easy walking distance. The room itself was maybe a tad bit smaller than a typically Embassy Suite but still enough space for us to spread out and included a nice counter on which to store our stuff. The bathroom was clean and modern. My daughter reported the sofa bed to be a bit more uncomfortable than most - that is the only negative I can think of. Service was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel does not offer parking beyond valet services. There is a parking garage across the street from the hotel that offers in-out privileges at a reasonable rate. We would definitely stay at this Embassy Suites again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Happy

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location great!
The cleaning staff, staff at the bar and in the service dining area were great. Very friendly and accommodating, as been every employee at every Embassy/Hilton we've stayed. Desk and management...not so much. We stay in Embassy Suites everywhere we travel. This was by far the worse experience with management. Very difficult time getting reservations and registration for small group. Mixed up names/final bill receipts. Other examples could be given. . Coffee pot in one room not working. Response was "We're full. We serve coffee in dining room". Every person in our party (12) agreed most of the staff behind the desk displayed the attitude of "you should be glad we let you stay here".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: In old downtown so you can walk or take trolley (which was two blocks over) to get anywhere. Lotz of shopping and eating!!!!!
Loved location and quietness of where our room was located .....(on the mezz). Yes it is older hotel but I loved it. Plenty of room. Loved breakfast and having a happy hour was a nice extra touch. Hotel was old Citadel......interesting!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New employee at hotel Mike H was the best!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Right off King St and close to everything
Room was clean comfortable and large. Everything in lobby was very clean including staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 20, 2016
So I reserved the King Suite - which according to Expedia had a deep soaking bathtub and king bed obviously. We got up to our room and it smelled mildewy and had stains on the floor. Full sized bed and regular bathroom. I called down to question, and they claimed on their end I reserved a regular room and requested a king if possible. I offered to bring down my confirmatiom email and was told they believed me, but there was nothing they could do as they were full. Well, this was the last night of an already hectic honeymoon and I started to cry. This particular staff was nice enough and said she would see what she could do. Somehow a king bed room became available. They comped our valet and brought us champagne, but still no tub. I did end up bringing down the confirmation and the manager was short when I tried to show her the pictures accompanied on expedia and said that's a different type of king suite. Well....it's what I paid for! Im posting what we got - versus what we reserved. Oh, and it's listed as a room with a view...our view was an alley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel conditions are tiref

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The hotel is tired and needs a major remodeling. The hotel staff was normal Food wasn't good. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location; outstanding staff.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
This is a great location with the spaciousness and convenience of a typical Embassy Suites. What sets it apart is the staff, especially the breakfast room staff who outdo themselves to be hospitable and efficiently turn over the hundreds of guests in the dining room each morning. They swiftly replenish juice and coffee, whisk away dishes the moment you are through and all with friendly greetings and welcoming smiles! Great southern hospitality in a beautiful town!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom was dirty and carpet was nasty.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The staff was very nice and efficient. We stayed on the mezzanine level and the room seemed to be a handicap room and the shower was old, outdated and felt dirty. The carpet was old and stained and felt dirty. My son plays at the Citadel and we wanted to stay downtown and we chose the Embassy Suites due to its location. I have stayed in Charleston at multiply hotels and this is the first hotel I was very disappointed in. I hope this isn't due to booking through Expedia. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by tina from Texas

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Embassy was great but had to have the key reprogrammed like 3 times for a two night stay.... very annoying.