Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent Location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, Location!
Cons: Better security
Situated right in the heart of everything you may like to see, this hotel does need some updating, it was very clean and evening cocktail reception was an added bonus, although typical of all Embassy Suites. Unfortunately, we had a rather unsettling experience with one of the other guests that could have/should have been handled better by the staff. Apparently there is not 24 hour security at this hotel. We asked the front desk manager to call the police for a guest that was being very aggressive toward his partner in a public area. When we intervened, he became very threatening towards us. The staff member did not call police right away and his behavior escalated. We went back to our room and found out the next morning that police were eventually called. I'm disappointed at the way this was handled and cast a pall over an otherwise pleasant weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very attentive staff in a wonderful city. We stay here each time we visit. The staff is very welcoming and treat us like family from check in to happy hour to breakfast. Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island

Perfect hotel in downtown Charleston

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Hotel was perfect for our day trip to Charleston. Staff was friendly, room was huge, and clean. Happy Hour is a great touch. The bed was so comfortable- best night sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Great location- we couldn't ask for more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Nice hotel with great breakfast.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
My only complaint would be that the pull out bed was awful! The second night I slept on the couch without pulling it out because that was much better than the mattress in the couch! The bed in the adjoining room was fine and the breakfast was great! Not just the continental stuff must hotels serve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old nasty building with supernatural stuff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
If you like a haunted old building that smells bad has no service stay there. The horrid Ghost visit I got at 3:30 am was included Be sure to stay in room M101 if you are into that kind of thing, don't forget to take water and some snacks before you go up ( no service) Good luck !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Didn't get the room type I reserved

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I ordered a king sized bed non smoking and when I checked in was told Expedia had ordered me a two double bed non smoking and they had no king rooms left at 4 in the afternoon. Both beds had terrible mattresses and were so close to the wall that it was extremely difficult for us old people to get in and out of bed. Also they gave us the room farthest from the elevator with a lovely view of the building next door and of course the hotel is located next to a nice park. Will not stay there ever again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great for a family weekend in Charleston

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Embassy Suites has the right formula for a family getaway - enough space so that we're not claustrophobic and our 2 children don't have to sleep in the same bed, a quality breakfast included in the nightly rate, and a relaxing manager's reception for the parents at the end of the day. This Embassy is in an historic building (the old Citadel), which makes it distinctive and a good conversation topic. The location is right on Marion Square, which puts the chain shops of lower King Street and the independent shops/restaurants of upper King St both within easy walking distance. The room itself was maybe a tad bit smaller than a typically Embassy Suite but still enough space for us to spread out and included a nice counter on which to store our stuff. The bathroom was clean and modern. My daughter reported the sofa bed to be a bit more uncomfortable than most - that is the only negative I can think of. Service was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel does not offer parking beyond valet services. There is a parking garage across the street from the hotel that offers in-out privileges at a reasonable rate. We would definitely stay at this Embassy Suites again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Happy

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location great!
The cleaning staff, staff at the bar and in the service dining area were great. Very friendly and accommodating, as been every employee at every Embassy/Hilton we've stayed. Desk and management...not so much. We stay in Embassy Suites everywhere we travel. This was by far the worse experience with management. Very difficult time getting reservations and registration for small group. Mixed up names/final bill receipts. Other examples could be given. . Coffee pot in one room not working. Response was "We're full. We serve coffee in dining room". Every person in our party (12) agreed most of the staff behind the desk displayed the attitude of "you should be glad we let you stay here".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: In old downtown so you can walk or take trolley (which was two blocks over) to get anywhere. Lotz of shopping and eating!!!!!
Loved location and quietness of where our room was located .....(on the mezz). Yes it is older hotel but I loved it. Plenty of room. Loved breakfast and having a happy hour was a nice extra touch. Hotel was old Citadel......interesting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New employee at hotel Mike H was the best!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Right off King St and close to everything
Room was clean comfortable and large. Everything in lobby was very clean including staff