Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great staff and location!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: comfort of bed. Bedroom was tight. Would have been better suited to a queen or a king instead of 2 doubles. Couch was stained.
Location: Walking distance of everything. We did not rent a car, Ubered it to and from the airport and had no need for one the 4 days we were there.
Great location in the heart of the historic district. Staff was excellent, couldn't have been nicer. It was nice having the living area on a different level than the bedroom. Didn't use the kitchen but it appeared to be well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, I am so sorry to hear that the bed was not comfortable and this is a concern we are addressing with our head of maintenance and housekeeping. When you book with us in the future please give us a call directly so that we can accommodate you for the room type you need. Thank you for recently staying with us at Church Street Inn. We value each and every guest interaction, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while in Charleston on business or pleasure. We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts. I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Sincerely, Elizabeth S. Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location.

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Location and spacious suite.
Pleasant, helpful staff. Lovely rooms. Fantastic base in Charleston. Can walk everywhere from hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for recently staying with us at Church Street Inn. We value each and every guest interaction, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while in Charleston on business or pleasure. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. I will be sure to pass on the message! We wanted to thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Elizabeth S. Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelent option

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Charming and elegant. Excelent location.
Location: Walking distance to many restaurants.
Very cozy hotel. Excelent location and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Prime Location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: location....staff
Cons: nope. Let me caution you about the "room" layout. The master bedroom is upstairs with its own bathroom. The key word there is "upstairs".
Location: perfect
20 yards to Market Street and many fine restaurants were within 300 yards! The hotel staff from the Valets to Chelsea the manager were so smilingly gracious and helpful. The value/price ratio was superb. Will go there again, for sure. JW
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Great location, awesome rooms, very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay

Great location in heart of historic district

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More place to hang towels
Location: Perfect location we walked everywhere great restaurants market right next to us
Would definitely return with friends had plenty of room to share with another couple in the townhouse we booked
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great location. Will stay again and again!!

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The room was very comfortable
Cons: Cheaper parking
Location: Right next to the City Market. Close to Battery Park. Close to King Street and Meeting Street.
This is a fantastic hotel especially for the price. It is very convenient to all the downtown attractions. It is right next door to the city markets. Very clean, and exceeding my expectations ten fold in all aspects. Highly recommend Church Street Inn for all Charleston travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Fantastic downtown location

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: location, staff
Cons: a few maintenance issues
Location: Great location for touring Charleston-the historic market, shops, restaurants are nearby; close to shuttle stops and many attractions
The staff and service at the hotel were wonderful. They loaned us an umbrella when it rained, and really took an interest in our having a positive experience. The hotel is nice overall, with a few maintenance issues (due to heavy rains, part of our upstairs carpet was flooded by rain from the balcony). The hotel's location is phenomenal for sightseeing in downtown-right next to the Market, near the start of carriage tours, shops, restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Feels like a nice apartment

Posted Oct 5, 2015
We loved our stay. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Our room was so nice. We got stuck in our room due to the rain and it was so comfortable it felt like we were at home vs being stuck in a hotel room. The hotel is in the middle of all busy streets and right next to the city market! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaitherburg, MD

Great location. Close to all the action.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Church Street Inn. The staff were all really friendly and the facility was clean. All the activities you'll want to take in are within close walking distance including a number of excellent restaurants. We'll definitely stay here when we visit Charleston again.