Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Beautiful hotel close to bars and restaurants.

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel is central to the shops, market, restaurants and bars. The staff are great and the decor is beautiful. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Great spot, great location.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, layout, and clean and spacious.
Cons: They cleaned very late in day one day, so we had to reschedule as they wanted to clean around 4-4:30pm, and we had just come back for a rest.
Suite was fantastic. So nice having extra space and we loved courtyard. The location couldn't be more perfect, right in the midst of the market. We recommended to our friends who go there often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Cozy, Private & Comfortable

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I very much enjoyed my stay and only wish I had extended my visit through the weekend.The Inn is ideally located with very comfortable accommodations, friendly and helpful staff and the charm of Charleston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Felt like a second-class customer....

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location - the location was truly excellent. That was the only benefit.
Cons: Too many things to list. I don't recommend this place. I did get one night comped, which was the least they could do.
From check-in to check-out, this hotel needed serious help. I requested a king bed, and didn't get it. When I inquired as to why, the front desk person (a terribly unhappy and unhelpful person who rolled her eyes at every request, kept her earbuds in at all times until she HAD to take them out to talk to a customer) told me that there was nothing available and that I should have booked through the hotel directly vs. using Expedia. The room was dirty and tired, with many stains on the furniture, old peeling paint, and ugly décor. When I arrived in my room, there were two maintenance men still in the room - they were upstairs caulking the toilet. No one seemed to be too concerned that I was given a key to a room that 1) wasn't ready, and 2) contained strangers. I called to tell them about the stained furniture (concerned we would be charged), and the front desk person said that she already knew about it - that the management was making plans to renovate. Wow - that made me feel special. Late that night, I was unpacking and opened the bathroom cabinet (which looked like it was from the 1980s - the doors did not close properly). It was absolutely disgusting...mold, dirty, wetness, and a toilet plunger wrapped in a trash bag. I told the girl in the morning that I wanted it cleaned, and she said she would tell maintenance. I returned 8 hours later, and nothing had been done. Maintenance did come (and he was REALLY nice...poor guy), but they weren't able to fix it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greer SC

Needs to be updated

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Cabinet in bathrooms need to be updated. Window sills need attention with some rotting issues. When we checked in we were not informed of coffee in the side lobby. Valet and check in was smooth and efficient. The location is superb! 20 feet to Market and restaurants. Court yard rooms are quiet! I would stay again. Influx of cash for freshening projects would make stay more enjoyable. Check out was smooth also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Perfect location!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Quaint.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of Historic Charleston, walking distance to everything.
Stayed at Church Street Inn Charleston on our way home from Florida. The hotel was recommended to us by a lovely woman we met in Naples Florida. A very friendly city and we will return for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
by Claudia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

Decent stay at Church Street Inn

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
We could never get the room cool enough. The manager had the AC set so it could not go below a certain temp and we just never got the room cool enough. Sleeping was tough because of it. There was a ceiling fan in the bedroom and that was our saving grace. The location of the inn is fabulous and the staff was great. I also recommend the management putting some high stools on the balcony so you can sit outside and enjoy the sun/surroundings from your quarters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice hotel near the market.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Near to the market and fine dining.
The two story room is more like a town house than a hotel. There is a kitchen and 2½ baths.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous vacation.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Great downtown location across from the market place and within walking distance to many great shops and restaurants. Very safe area walking home at night.
Cons: Nothing, all the staff was wonderful. Can't say enough good things about this place.
Location: Across from market place, and horse drawn carriage rides. Fabulous restaurants we loved "slightly North of Broad" less than a 10 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Kirsten C. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.