Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location--close to everything downtown

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Could use some upgrades
This hotel is a great location and perfect for our girls trip. This is a historic inn but somewhere between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. It's not at all new or modern, so I wouldn't recommend if that's what you're looking for. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We never had a chance to check out their complimentary happy hour but wish I had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect historic district location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Everyone was so amazing and accommodating. When we arrived after a very long flight, we knew we were much too early for check in, so we were going to ask the desk to hold our bags so we could walk around town until we could get into our room. The desk clerk took our names and handed us our key saying your room is ready, go up and get comfortable if you'd like... our chins dropped on the floor and we were so grateful for that hospitality. All the days after, we continued to be impressed by everyone. This hotel really works hard to make sure their guests are treated well. Fulton Lane Inn is walking distance of everything. Around the corner from wonderful restaurants and the City Market. We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel located in the heart of Charleston

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This is a lovely boutique hotel located in the heart of Charleston. Within easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and other sites. We had a corner room which was quite spacious and my only regret is that I didn't have more time to stay to enjoy both the hotel, its amenities, and the location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Inexpensive hotel in prime location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: I really liked the location of this hotel as well as the fact that they had a parking lot with a reduced rate. They also will deliver your breakfast.
Cons: Definitely need new beds, or at the very least new mattresses and some WD-40
Location: Location is prime. You can basically walk to anything you need.
This hotel is very old, but I feel they have done the best they can to update it, while still keeping the price low in comparison to the other hotels in the area. The layout of the room was very unique as it was closer to a one bedroom apartment than a traditional hotel room. Unfortunately, the bed was very squeaky and very hard, which led to me not being able to sleep. I'm thankful that I was only there for one night. Also, the person who brought my room service was dressed inappropriately in a spaghetti strap tank top with bra showing. When she knocked on the door, I thought it was another guest. I said that I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but only if they like a hard mattress, otherwise I would not. I only needed a hotel room to sleep in as I was sight seeing all day and had to check out at 8am to catch a flight, so the bed situation was disappointing to say the least and the main reason I rated my stay as a 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sylvania, OH

Nice experience

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location could not be better
Cons: Nicer area for the daily wine/cheese tasting.
Location: Right in the heart of downtown
Room was very nice, but a bit beat up (chair hiding wall damage) but overall loved the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

EXCELLENT LOCATION!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The space--rooms are very large--and the location. It's right off the main shopping street, King Street.
Cons: More choices at breakfast, or maybe a buffet breakfast.
Location: It's perfectly positioned in the big shopping area (King Street) and only steps away from the old market area (Market Street) and carriage rides.
This charming hotel is a break frorm glassy, glossy cookie cutter types that don't fit the character of the city where they are located; it's almost like visiting the past. It's furnished with beautiful antiques and has a real homey feel. Fortunately, though, the bathrooms are very modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

I got a bottle of sparkling wine for my birthday.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: They brought up a nice breakfast in the morning. I also got a bottle of Cava because it was my birthday. Nice touch.
Cons: Happy hour could start earlier. I can't write anymore.
Location: All sorts of restaurants and jazz very near.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the middle of historic area.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Great location could walk any direction and get food, shopping and history!'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

location location location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Everything is within walking distance. The city market is right around the corner and the waterfront a few more blacks away. Lots of food and shopping
The location was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful with finding great dining experiences. Park your car and leave the keys in the room because walking the city is half the experience and this location is perfect. Several previous reviews complained about the noise, but we found it minimum. Besides, when you book a hotel in the heart of a busy city and expect complete silence that's your fault. Stay at Fulton Lane Inn and you will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doylestown, Pa.

Nice in Charleston

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Maybe just replace the worn/dirty fabric on the couch by concierge.
Location: College is within a few steps. Good shopping on King Street. Very close to the City Market.
We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary. I briefly mentioned this to the Concierge and the next day we had a bottle of champagne show up in our room! Guest Room was fairly large, nice and quiet, clean. Reasonable price for Historic section. Amenities (breakfast, wine and cheese, cute seating areas) are located next door in their 'sister ' hotel. Fulton Lane just had rooms but price was better than the sister hotel and Fulton Lane guests get all of the amenities. Very close to the College of Char. We walked everywhere ftom our hotel. Parking was behind hotel and reasonable (14.00/day)