Ratings based on 1,251 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay in a convenient location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The personable, professional staff, from the greeting by Curtis at the door on arrival, through check-out. Comfortable accommodations. Location right across street from Visitors Center and free trolley stop made seeing this charming town stress free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel near King Street.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Great location!
Cons: The air conditioner in the room wouldn't go below 72 degrees. No big deal for most people, but I like the room very cold when I sleep.
Location: Great restaurants, entertainment, shopping. The visitor center which all tours and busses run from is right out of the front door.
The hotel was in a great area for everything you'd want. King street is one block over. This Street is great for food, drinks and entertainment. The visitor center is literally right out the front door. All free busses and pay tours run right out of the visitor center. The free busses take you all over down town Charleston. No need for a car once you've parked in the garage at the hotel, which is 17 dollars a day. The Charleston museum is also right across the street. I'll definitely stay at this hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Great Location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: It is close to every thing.
Cons: Our room was for handicap people. The bathroom had several nicks and scratches due to wheel chairs or other such equipment.
Location: There are several old houses that you can tour.
It is located in the old part of Charleston, right next to the visitor center. There are a lot of great eating places within one or two blocks of the hotel. Like most hotels that are located downtown there is not parking. If you drive, you will have to pay to park but the city garage is right next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Great location, friendly staff, clean facilities!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient to historic downtown, decent price, clean room, great people.
Cons: We had a minor AC issue in our room, but it was addressed by desk staff (just didn't seem to cool off enough, but wasn't awful.)
Location: Shopping, dining, bars, Charleston Music Hall, SC Aquarium, College of Charleston
Stayed 2 nights in historic Charleston in February of 2017. Great location, close to so much. Clean and spacious lobby and friendly desk and door staff. Parking garage (entrance on John Street) very convenient, right next to hotel lobby entrance. $17/night for garage parking with elevator. Hotel buffet breakfast offered eggs, sausage, potatoes, bagels/muffins, waffles, etc. Not bad for free. Lots of room to sit and eat, with gas fireplace area, too. Outside courtyards with tables/chairs/umbrellas. Outdoor pool area looked well maintained but it was February. Good coffee in lobby all day and night. Police officers stop in to get coffee and use restroom in lobby...nice safe feel. Room was clean, nice large TV, microwave, mini fridge. No issues. Comfortable king bed, quality sheets/covering. Heavy drapes let you sleep in if you want. No other room issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Major bang for your buck! A friend and I ran the half marathon and stayed here. Super comfortable and clean for our race. 10 minute Uber to the start of the race, and walking distance to bars to celebrate the night of! Also close to shops. Will definitely come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakemary, florida

Extremely disappointing experience

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Hotel had mold on the windows, had to change room 4 times to get a clean room. Shared pics with Property General manager and AGM ...extremely risky to stay with kids as they are always running around windows and the room . Most disappointing was the fact that property senior management was not aware of the same .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from N. Myrtle Beach

Amazing Staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Location: Children's museum right across the street. Only $10 for an entire day of fun for the kids.
This will be our new hotel when we visit Charleston. We have two small kids and the staff was excellent. Very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Water Mill, NY

Nice hotel. Close to everything

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I've stayed in this Hampton Inn before and it was another great stay. Beds are soooo comfortable and everything is very clean. Friendly staff and also able to answer all your questions. Arranged a cab for us which was right on time to take us to the airport. Their breakfast is the best. They have anything you could ask for and it all was delicious. I'll stay here again when I come to Charleston.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean But HVAC System Archaic

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great location near visitors center, free trolley and good restaurants. However the HVAC system is archaic. We froze at night because it didn't function despite efforts by a handyman who'd been there only 2 months.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Needs some updating and the breakfast could have been better but a great place to stay. Comfortable, location was great, staff was great and right across from the visitors center.