Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Convenient location in a safe area.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location, price, housekeeping, and the lovely, singing breakfast ladies who did an spectacular job with breakfast each day.
Cons: Tell it like it is, Lonnie.
Location: Charleston's historic district is 5 minutes away.
Don't ask Lonnie for a room that is away from the elevator and ice machine, lol. He said he could do that, but when we got up there to room 227, it hadn't been restocked with towels, tissue and the trash had not been dumped in the living area. It seemed as though management was not intending for guests to stay in that room for that night. (For the rest of our stay, we had Shantel, who did a wonderful job cleaning and restocking the room. So, the issues we had were not due to her.) The room was literally right next to the elevators. So after 14 hours of driving, we were awakened by loud people exiting the elevators all Saturday night. It was much better the rest of the stay. At least the ice machine was out of service for the four nights we stayed there. So we didn't hear it at all. Ironically, the elevator door noise it not a problem at all, but I was pretty shocked Lonnie gave us the keys for that room without a heads up. I never said anything to Lonnie about that first night, because it did get better. We are used to quiet country living and we were just so tired that first noisy night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently situated for city and beaches

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Excellent base for sightseeing, facilities are basic but comfortable although our room was quite noisy. Also, the lobby smelt strongly of smoke due to people smoking close to entrance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good deal!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Close to everything yet not in the heart of the city, which we prefer. Usually have a great experience here--this time the maids missed our room but the front desk staff quickly brought towels. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

I always stay at Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I always stay at Hampton Inn when I come to Charleston on business. The staff is very pleasant and courteous. The rooms are always clean, and the location is great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and it has really declined. The lobby smelt of cigarette smoke and the room was not very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel butobility impaired travellers beware.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
If you r handicapped, be careful. Although I specified it in reservation, and even called a few days before arrival, I was unable to get an accessible room. I specifically need a walk in shower-cannot use tub/shower combo. Patricia at check in/front desk scolded me for "not using the correct words in my request. How dare that lady tell me what "accessible" means when I live it every single day. Fortunately, Joan saw the situation going south and leapt into action w/ a solution that, although not perfect, was OK. Thank God for Joan. Patricia needs to go back to sensitivity training.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
A quiet, friendly comfortable place. Great value. Near enough to historic district. Good restaurants around. Very convenient location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommend!

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
We experienced very pleasant personnel, a varied breakfast offering, and it was quiet! We were there four nights and upon our earlier than expected arrival were able to check in. Our son and granddaughter visited us during our stay and they were also welcomed by the staff.